Thread: New User Wowza questions

Default New User Wowza questions

Hi all,

I am new to Wowza and even streaming servers in general. I have been playing around with Wowza and reading the documentation for a day or two now and have ran into a couple questions I can seem to figure out. So far I have been able to install the server, setup the ports, and stream some video and audio files.

One thing I can't seem to get my head rapped around is when I put a URL in a video player to stream a video I put RTMP://[Server-IP]/vod/mp4.filename.mp4

Where is that vod folder located.. there are a few vod folders in a few different placed withing the wowza install directory. Is this pointing to the [Install-Directory]/Conf/vod.. I am assuming it is pointing here to be able to access the application file stored there?

I am also working on some audio files. I have been able to get audio files to play, but I still have to use the vod folder to do so. I tried to make a conf/audio folder and put an application file in there to try to make the URL RTMP://[Server-IP]/audio/mp3.filename.mp3, but I get errors and it doesn't seem to work. Does everything have to go through the vod folder?

Also, one of my concerns so far is organization.. So far I have had to put all my audio / video files int he content folder in the install directory. I would like to separate them into their own project sub-folders in the content folder, but in all attempts to do so, I cant get anything to run. Is there something special I need to do to accomplish this?

Lastly, up until this point we have used a 2003 windows media service server for our audio streaming. Going through the process to upload them on the server and creating a publishing point we would get a htm file and inside a MMS://[server-name]/file-name link. Is the rtmp:// links I am getting from Wowza its equivalent of the windows media service MMS link?

Thanks,
    Jeryn

Hi,