Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: cannot stream more than one channel from same encoder source

  1. #1

    Question cannot stream more than one channel from same encoder source

    I recently launched a Wowza Server on EC2 with a prebuilt startup package. I can do live streaming easily from an RTMP encoder, however if I push another channel using the same encoder, the second channel doesn't stream. I tried sending another live stream from a different RTMP encoder and it worked. Please note that the two (2) RTMP encoders are from different location with different IP. When I tried to stream from another RTMP encoder on the same network as the first encoder (using one public IP), it doesn't stream. Is there any configurations that I missed during the setup to allow multiple stream from same source?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,037

    Default

    Hi,
    It's very common to send in multiple streams from the same encoder, but they should have unique stream names.
    Were you using unique stream names in each case?
    What encoder(s) (manufacturer and model) are you using?

    Best regards,
    Daren

  3. #3

    Default

    Hi, Daren.

    I am definitely using unique stream names.

    I use several Teradek Cube 105 to stream via RTMP to a Wowza server, but once the first encoder gets connected, the others cannot stream anymore. But if I use the encoder from a different location, then it works?!?!

    Thank you for your support.

    Mervin

    Quote Originally Posted by daren_j View Post
    Hi,
    It's very common to send in multiple streams from the same encoder, but they should have unique stream names.
    Were you using unique stream names in each case?
    What encoder(s) (manufacturer and model) are you using?

    Best regards,
    Daren

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    It might be, sounds like it is, a bandwidth limitation of the encoder's uplink. You can test that with this tool.

    Richard

Similar Threads

  1. Does wowza change source file 16:9 to live stream 4:3 in rmtp stream?
    By Denny Lee in forum Live Streaming and Encoders
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-25-2014, 06:28 AM
  2. Stream From RTSP Video Source and Dshow Audio Source
    By dariocdj in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-24-2013, 08:17 AM
  3. Can I bypass it request sdp file? source is VLC Live source
    By alantang888 in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-06-2012, 10:31 AM
  4. MediaCaster system pulls a stream from a stream source issue?
    By zaghlol in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-18-2012, 09:09 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •