Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Streaming Live with Wowza and Amazon EC2 a ROCKET SCIENCE???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    3

    Angry Streaming Live with Wowza and Amazon EC2 a ROCKET SCIENCE???

    Hello,
    First of all I would like to say that having loads and loads of documentation is useless if it lacks clarity.

    I am trying to setup Wowza with Amazon EC2 from last 2 days and yet not able to do so.

    Here is what I did:
    1. Signed Up at Amazon and Wowza for trial
    2. Downloaded Wowza and purchased DevKey
    3. Created a Wowza AMI
    4. Provided default package in advanced setting section
    5. Enabled ports in security groups
    6. Launched the Instance

    Here is the URL of the instance: http://ec2-54-254-176-226.ap-southea...naws.com:1935/

    Now, if I try to put below parameters in VideoOnDemandStreaming/FlashRTMPPlayer/player.html file in the wowza examples, It is giving this error:
    Server: rtmp://ec2-54-254-176-226.ap-southeast-1.compute.amazonaws.com/vod
    Stream: mp4:sample.mp4

    Error: Connection failed: Application folder ([install-location]/applications/vod) is missing.

    I have tried every related documentation, video, youtube. and it is still tearing apart my mind right now...

    What is the exact procedure?? why don't you take an hour and document it?

    Pls pls pls....tell me what should I have to do??
    It is really very important..

    Awaiting any response..

    Thanks,
    Sharad Saxena

  2. #2

    Default

    Hi,

    There was a recent update to the EC2 user interface and it appears that it has affected the launching of Wowza instances. Our engineers are aware of the problem and are looking into it.

    It appears that Wowza has installed but has not tuned or configured the default applications. You should be able to manually tune and install the applications if you are in a hurry.

    Regards,

    Roger.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    How can I manually configure Wowza? Is there any updated documentation for that?

    Can you please tell me the steps to correctly configure Wowza manually.
    I have already tried the User Manual, Quick start guide and other documentation.
    There are not solving my problem.

    Please take a look in the issue and help me out of it.

    Thanks,
    Sharad Saxena

  4. #4

    Default

    Hi,

    There is a known issue with the current version of the EC2 Management Console that does not work properly with the Wowza Media Server default startup package system. The work around is to specify the default startup package using the user data field as part of the AMI launch process. Do the following steps:

    In the Configure Instance Details step, open the Advanced Details section
    In the User data field enter the following user data and select the As text radio option

    WZA_startupPackageURL=http://s3.amazonaws.com/wowzamediasystems/com/wowza/startup/default_3.6.0.zip
    UPDATE: New AMIs have been released that resolves this problem. Please make sure that you use the AMIs that are listed on this page, http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....achine-images), when using the Launch Wizard. The archived AMIs will still work with the command line tools.
    Last edited by roger_l; 10-14-2013 at 03:00 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by roger_l View Post
    Hi,

    There is a known issue with the current version of the EC2 Management Console that does not work properly with the Wowza Media Server default startup package system. The work around is to specify the default startup package using the user data field as part of the AMI launch process. Do the following steps:

    In the Configure Instance Details step, open the Advanced Details section
    In the User data field enter the following user data and select the As text radio option

    WZA_startupPackageURL=http://s3.amazonaws.com/wowzamediasystems/com/wowza/startup/default_3.6.0.zip
    Thanks, that worked!
    But, now I am facing another problem with streaming live media. When I provide the live url in example page, it works fine but It gives error when I am using JW Player...

    Here are my configurations:
    <script type="text/javascript">
      jwplayer('mediaplayer').setup({
        'id': 'playerID',
        'width': '480',
        'height': '270',
        'provider': 'rtmp',
        'streamer': 'rtmp://xxx-xx-xxx-xxx-xxx.compute.amazonaws.com/live',
        'file': 'mystream',
        'modes': [
            {type: 'flash', src: 'player.swf'},
    	{type: 'html5', config:
    		{
    		'file': "http://xxx-xx-xxx-xxx-xxx.compute.amazonaws.com/live",
    		provider: 'video'
    		}
    	}
        ]
      });
    </script>
    Please help me in this last setup..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    723

    Default

    Hi,

    Please take a look at this URL for instruction how to properly configure your JWplayer to stream content from Wowza server:
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....a-Media-Server

    Zoran

Similar Threads

  1. how to use wowza ndvr on amazon ec2 for live streaming
    By biju981 in forum AddOn: Wowza nDVR
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-11-2013, 09:50 AM
  2. Need Help : Live Streaming Video with WOWza Media Server 3 on Amazon EC2
    By johnhenrydale in forum Wowza Media Server 3 for Amazon EC2 Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-28-2011, 11:16 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •