Thread: Need advise about Wowza settings

Question Need advise about Wowza settings

Hello all,

I am new to Wowza application and I am facing a problem, for which I was not able to find a solution so far ( reading alot of forum posts, documentations and recommendations). So here is the problem:

I am streaming an event over RTMP ( using one channel ) and when there are more than 350 users, it takes 20-30 seconds for a new user to start viewing the event. For example, if there are few people watching the event, the page with the JW player loads almost instantly. However when there are more than 350 users, player appears after 20 seconds and then the video starts. Also there is a lag of 10 seconds and more.

The weird thing is that the problem appears after having 350 users online. I did follow the performance tuning tutorial and now the problem occurs when there are 150-200 users. There are plenty resources on the server and I don't get why this happens.

I will be very grateful if some advise/tips could be shared with me.

I am running Wowza on Xeon Server with 2 Gbps connection. The goal of my project is to be able to stream one event to 2000 - 5000 users ( bitrate is 350 kbps ).

Thank you in advance for any help.

Thank you for your interest in Wowza Server. We're pleased that you're giving us the opportunity to support your streaming workflow.

What bitrate do you have set in your encoder for publishing to Wowza? Are you using adaptive bitrate streaming? What are your exact encoder settings?

Most often network bandwidth is the problem. As rule, consider this formula as a guide: (stream bitrate * max concurrent clients) < server bandwidth.

It also sounds like you are concerned about live latency (delay between real-time and streaming playback). Here is an article that offers some help with latency issues: How to achieve the lowest latency from capture to playback