Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Help with Loadbalancer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    21

    Default Help with Loadbalancer

    Hi, I am trying to configure load balancing with one origin server and two edge servers on Amazon ec2. I have setup origin-edge configuration and I can see video by accessing my edge server so I think I got the basic orign-edge working correctly.

    I then followed the instructions on the loadbalancer zip file to setup the load balancer. When I go to the url http://[myoriginip]:1935/loadbalancer I get the return value of "redirect=localhost". Is this the expected return value? I thought I would get an ip address from one of my edge servers.



    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Tom
    Last edited by flyfishtom; 11-04-2013 at 09:18 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Following the guide to setup the Load Balancer Sender on each edge, the loadBalancerSenderRedirectAddress Property is where this is set. On the edge/LB sender, set this loadBalancerSenderRedirectAddress Property to the IP address of the edge.

    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Richard, Thanks so much for your reply. I have two edge server with the following code for the Server.xml properties

    <Properties>
    <Property>
    <Name>loadBalancerSenderTargetPath</Name>
    <Value>${com.wowza.wms.AppHome}/conf/loadbalancertargets.txt</Value>
    </Property>
    <Property>
    <Name>LoadBalancerSenderRedirectAddress</Name>
    <Value>xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx</Value>
    </Property>
    <Property>
    <Name>loadBalancerSenderMonitorClass</Name>
    <Value>com.wowza.wms.plugin.loadbalancer.LoadBalancerMonitorDefault</Value>
    </Property>
    <Property>
    <Name>loadBalancerSenderMessageInterval</Name>
    <Value>2500</Value>
    <Type>Integer</Type>
    </Property>
    </Properties>


    Here is my serverInfoXML output from the Listener (with zero connections on the edge):

    <LoadBalancerServer>
    <connectCount>0</connectCount>
    <status>RUNNING</status>
    <redirectCount>0</redirectCount>
    <lastMessage>84 milliseconds</lastMessage>
    <redirect>localhost</redirect>
    <serverId>23953692-b28f-4890-a3b7-84bc229abcb1</serverId>
    </LoadBalancerServer>

    <LoadBalancerServer>
    <connectCount>0</connectCount>
    <status>RUNNING</status>
    <redirectCount>0</redirectCount>
    <lastMessage>339 milliseconds</lastMessage>
    <redirect>localhost</redirect>
    <serverId>1856e754-f294-48c4-9f80-5093de81c39a</serverId>
    </LoadBalancerServer>
    </LoadBalancerServerInfo>

    I am using Amazon ec2 Wowza Servers and I'm using the public IP addresses.

    I appreciate any help you could lend me.

    Tom

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Did you not re-start the edges after changing LoadBalancerSenderRedirectAddress from localhost to xx.xx.xx

    If you see "redirect=localhost" from the LB listener, then the Load Balancer Listener and at least one LB Sender is working, and the Listener is getting "localhost" from an edge.

    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    21

    Default

    The strange thing is that the LoadBalancerSenderRedirectorAddress was always set to xx.xx.xx.xx I never had it set to localhost. I have used either ${com.wowza.amazonaws.ec2.AWSEC2_METADATA_PUBLIC_IPV4} or the actual public address. In both cases I get redirect=localhost from the LB Listener.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Oh man I just found my error. In my Server.xml properties I used a capital "L" in the loadBalancerSenderRedirectAddress name.

    I've been staring at this for a week and didn't catch it until this morning. Richard, I appreciate your hanging in there with me. Now I have some work to do getting the rest of this set up for Flowplayer.

    Thanks again.

    Tom

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Thanks for the update, Tom. Not sure where "localhost" was coming from though, which indicated that it was working set to localhost.

    Richard

Similar Threads

  1. redirect of loadbalancer
    By jjlee33 in forum Server Administration
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-22-2014, 07:06 AM
  2. LoadBalancer not balancing
    By dmahoney in forum AddOn: Other AddOns
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-18-2012, 06:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •