Thread: Need some help with live stream configuration

Default Need some help with live stream configuration

Hi, everyone.

I'm fairly new to live streaming server setup and I would appreciate some help in choosing the right setup.

I will be using Wowza for live streaming only, and our maximum usage will be 200-300 concurrent viewers (at 500 kbps) with 70% on desktop and the rest on iOS / Android. We will be streaming for about 5 hours per week most of the time, so AWS with a DevPay license looks like the right one for our needs. Over 90% of our viewers are local, and we get very few from outside North America.

So my questions are:
    1) Do I need to use HLS and HDS to support the iOS and Android viewers?
    2) Can I do this without Cloudfront? Are there any drawbacks to using Cloudfront for this application?
    3) Is the cost to use Cloudfront about the same as if I don't use it? For example, if the user data transfer is 100 GB from EC2 (without Cloudfront) then the cost is virtually the same other than the data transfered from the origin EC2 server to the Cloudfront distribution. Is this correct?

1) Yes, you need HLS for iOS devices, and it can be used in new Android devices. To reach all Android devices you have to use rtsp playback.

2) Cloudfront is overkill for your requirements. A single m1.small might handle 300 x 500kbs (150mbs), but it would be close. An m1.medium, large or xlarge would be better.

3) I think data transfer costs are the same cost either way

Thanks for the info, Richard. I've been using Adobe Media Server on AWS, with HLS for iOS (and Android, in some case) and HDS for Flash users and I'm planning to do the same with Wowza. It covers a good enough percentage of our audience.