Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Origin server that can act as edge

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default Origin server that can act as edge

    Hi there!

    I would need a Wowza setup scheme that would allow any server to act both as an origin and an edge. Using the same application, a client app would both publish a stream (origin server) and play a foreign stream from another origin/edge. The usage for this would be for a 1/1 video chat where each of the two participants would connect to the nearest server.
    I could not find an easy setup to do so. Could you advise?

    Thank you.

  2. #2

    Default

    You can use the same app as origin and edge. Set the StreamType of "live" in your Application.xml file, then use as an edge by starting origin streams with ServerManager or StartUpStream.xml with MediaCaster type "liverepeater".

    and use same application as origin by publishing to it.

    Salvadore

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Wouldn't using StartUpStream.xml imply that I know all the stream names and origins in advance?

  4. #4

    Default

    You can use the MediaCaster API to start the streams programatically.

    You do not need to use origin/edge for 1 to 1 video chat. Here is a guide on how to set it up:
    How to set up live video chat

    Salvadore

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thank you for your quick replies.

    I have been using the simple setup for years, but now I need each client to connect to the nearest server. If I have a client from Australia and a client from North America, I don't want them to be randomly paired with an Asian server. Each should be connected to their continental server and the Wowza application should act both as an edge and as an origin.

    A setup similar to the following:

    Client A:
    publish to: rtmp://america.com/app/inst/[streamA]
    play from: rtmp://america.com/app/inst/[rtmp://australia.com/app/inst/streamB]

    Client B:
    publish to: rtmp://australia.com/app/inst/[streamB]
    play from: rtmp://australia.com/app/inst/[rtmp://america.com/app/inst/streamA]

    That is the exact setup I need. Otherwise I can think of using 2 separate connections for each "chat-room" and two applications on each server, one origin and one edge, but that would be too much work to handle properly.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    I don't think I would use Live Stream Repeater for this. I would find some other scheme, perhaps geoIP, to pair chatters to the same server, then proceed normally with direct low-latency RTMP connections.

    Richard

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I know the latency will be larger when using origin/edge, but in my case it's more important to have good load balancing and image quality.
    Is such a deployment even possible? To have the same application instance act as an edge and origin?

    Cristian.

  8. #8

    Default

    Yes, you can use the same app as origin and edge. Set the StreamType to "live" in your Application.xml file, then use as an edge by starting origin streams with ServerManager or StartUpStream.xml with MediaCaster type "liverepeater".

    Then use the same application as an origin by publishing to it.

    Salvadore

Similar Threads

  1. log file on origin server is very large when connect with edge server
    By aiscript in forum Performance and Tuning
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-01-2014, 12:01 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-10-2013, 11:34 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •