Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Getting live updates from wowzamediaserver_error.log

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    103

    Question Getting live updates from wowzamediaserver_error.log

    Is it possible to open the wowzamediaserver_error.log in such a way that updates are pushed to me, so that I can see errors as they tick in?

    I'm on OSX with the terminal and connecting to the EC2 instance with SSH.

    Also, if that is not possible, I'm at least looking for a way to open the .log so that it is formatted nicely and the columns/indentations are aligned nicely, and not like when you open it in TextEdit or Dreamweaver:


  2. #2

    Default

    You can view real time logging if you start Wowza in stand alone mode, /bin/startup.bat, or on Mac /bin/startup.term. This will display the output of the server to your console.

    Also, you can open the .log files with Excel and have a nicer looking view of the log files.

    Salvadore

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    103

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by salvadore View Post
    You can view real time logging if you start Wowza in stand alone mode, /bin/startup.bat, or on Mac /bin/startup.term. This will display the output of the server to your console.
    Salvadore
    So you're suggesting starting the server standalone as opposed to starting it as a system service?

    It's running on a Amazon Linux EC2 instance, I'm just attending it from my OSX terminal. With SSH access in terminal, what exactly do I write to get the console to output the .log errors?

    Quote Originally Posted by salvadore View Post
    Also, you can open the .log files with Excel and have a nicer looking view of the log files.
    Salvadore
    True, it does look better. But there are two disadvantages.

    1) Excel is slow to load the .log file.
    2) You have to manually resize the columns every time you open a .log file in order to actually read the error messages.
    Last edited by niemion; 01-11-2014 at 05:12 PM.

  4. #4

    Default

    Hi,

    You can tail the log file using tail -f wowzamediaserver_error.log.

    Roger.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    103

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by roger_l View Post
    You can tail the log file using tail -f wowzamediaserver_error.log.
    Thanks roger, that was exactly what I was looking for.

    Is there any way to create my only simplified wowzamediaserver_simple_access.log ammending some of the fields?

    For example I would like to remove the fields:

    tz
    x-category
    x-severity
    x-statux-ctx

  6. #6

    Default

    This thread discusses how to add custom log files, and custom log fields:
    Adding a custom log file and custom log fields.

    Salvadore

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Take a look at the /conf/log4j.properties files. Each appender has a Fields list, which you can modify as you want. The full set of available fields is shown in that file. The Error shows how to limit by Threshold, and the Stats Appender shows how to use CategoryInclude and EventExclude. For more info, take a look at the Logging chapter in the user guide

    Richard

Similar Threads

  1. Wowza IDE updates for 4.0
    By chrisdeely in forum General Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-15-2014, 09:06 AM
  2. Overlays with updates on Windows
    By Kent WOW in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-29-2013, 05:28 PM
  3. no stream after updates, transcode erros
    By bulltv in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-18-2013, 07:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •