Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Transrate audio only

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014

    Default Transrate audio only


    I am trying to wrap my head around Wowza capabilities. I am working on a prototype or on demand audio-only streaming and I am not decided yet on the protocol (be it HLS, HDS and/or RTMP, encrypted or not). From what I saw they all support adaptive bitrate streaming but you need to provide the different bitrate medias upfront + the SMIL file. Or use the transcoder addon. Unfortunately all the example I found for transrate.xml shows video birate adapting and not audio only. Is that possible?


  2. #2


    For adaptive bitrate switching to work, all the various bitrate renditions need to be keyframe aligned, some encoders offer a multi-bitrate encoding option, but the Wowza Transcoder AddOn is the most accurate way to create the ABR set.

    For this reason ABR for true audio only is not possible as there are no keyframes in an audio only stream. However, you can transrate the audio, and use PassThru for the video and ABR should work. You will need to have a video track included.
    It can be very low bitrate and empty and be set to PassThru, but it needs to be included for ABR to work. Audio only ABR is not supported.


Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-08-2013, 06:03 PM
  2. Pass-Thru Transrate for Bitrate
    By Moresheth in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-04-2013, 10:16 PM
  3. Transrate - Audio and Video Seperation
    By jedida in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-25-2012, 03:51 PM
  4. Transrate Questions
    By TripSmarter.Com in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-02-2012, 12:22 PM
  5. AAC Audio only transrate
    By magpar in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-11-2012, 02:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts