Thread: FMLE stream name extension and bitrate enhancing

Question FMLE stream name extension and bitrate enhancing

Hello All,

Recently I have taken over the streaming responsibilities for my company. I am using FMLE, Wowza, and JW Player to stream live underwater cameras. I have noticed that the stream name previously set on FMLE ends in ".if" (ex. mystream.if). Is there any reason why there would be an extension on the stream name? (tokenizing, compatibility with other software, metadata reference, etc) I am new to live streaming and learning as much as possible, but so far I haven't turned up anything on google searches or searching the Wowza forums.

Also, I have been testing with a camera in the British Virgin Islands which gets around 2.5 Mbps upload (tested using with servers in NYC, California, and Denver). When I encode using FMLE the bitrate is throttled to ~500Kbps. Currently I am running Wowza on a PC running with a Core 2 duo, 8GB RAM, and a 50Mbps cable connection. I have a Dell PowerEdge R520 server arriving tomorrow with 2 Xeon E5-2407 (2.2GHz quad core) chips and 4GB RAM/chip and will be colocating it in a local datacenter with a 100Mbps connection. The datacenter has GigE connections and redundant OCs, but the plan I am getting is throttle to 100Mbps average. I will see if the bottleneck is on Wowza's end once I have the server up and running, but ideally I would like to be able to get a higher bitrate from FMLE to Wowza. I know that you can use the Transcoder add-on with certain NVIDIA cards or Xeon E3 processors to help Wowza, but is there any native functionality to enhance the outgoing bitrate or resolution?