Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Problem transcode Nvidia GTX

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default Problem transcode Nvidia GTX

    Hi all

    I am trying to get hardware acceleration with Nvidia GTX660 and NVEC:
    In logs i can see:
    INFO server comment - JNI:TranscoderSession.isCUDAAvailable[_defaultVHost_:rtvcnet/_definst_/rtvcnet.stream]: NVidia NVENC hardware acceleration is available
    INFO server comment - JNI:NVidiaCUDAUtils.logCUDAGPUInfo[_defaultVHost_:rtvcnet/_definst_/rtvcnet.stream]: GPU[0]: name:"GeForce GTX 660" version:3.0 driver:6000 memory:2047MB processors:5 cores:960 clockRate:1032MHz NVENC:yes
    INFO server comment - JNI:TranscoderSession.isQuickSyncAvailable[_defaultVHost_:rtvcnet/_definst_/rtvcnet.stream]: Intel Quick Sync hardware acceleration is NOT available.

    But later i obtain:
    INFO server comment - JNI:TranscoderSession.videoEncoderAdd[_defaultVHost_:rtvcnet/_definst_/rtvcnet.stream:360p]: Create video encoder: H.264: NVENC
    File: nvenc/src/CNVEncoder.cpp, Line: 1783, nvEncOpenEncodeSessionEx() returned with error 21
    Note: GUID key may be invalid or incorrect. Recommend to upgrade your drivers and obtain a new key
    NVENC error at nvenc/src/CNVEncoder.cpp:1785 code=21(NVENC Feature not available for current license key type) "nvStatus"
    WARN server comment - JNI:VideoEncoderH264NVENC.initialize[_defaultVHost_:rtvcnet/_definst_/rtvcnet.stream:360p]: OpenEncodeSession failed: gpuid:0 result:-1

    Where is the problem? i just spent 1000 on hardware.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,047

    Default

    Hi,
    The error you are seeing may very well be a driver issue.
    However, Wowza uses the NVidia NVENC SDK to implement this type of hardware accelerated transcoding.
    The consumer level GTX GPUs are not on NVidia'slist of GPUs supported for use with the NVENC SDK.
    It's not advisable to use these GPUs for this purpose.

    Daren

  3. #3

    Default

    AFAIK NVENC in Wowza will work with Quadro class GPUs, even if a GTX has NVENC, I suppose it is a more basic/crippled version (otherwise why would anyone want to buy Quadros?)

Similar Threads

  1. Transcode and Push Publish problem
    By azrilnazli in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-09-2014, 06:05 AM
  2. NVENC Geforce GTX 680 licensing
    By yee.woon2@gmail.com in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-06-2014, 04:56 AM
  3. Audio transcode problem
    By wsmaster in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-23-2012, 10:13 AM
  4. Transcode a list of file problem
    By vc12345 in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-07-2011, 07:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •