Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Problem with smil files

  1. #1

    Default Problem with smil files

    Hi!

    I made a smil file like this:

    <smil>
    <head>
    </head>
    <body>

    <stream name="TestStream"></stream>
    <stream name="TestStreamUSA"></stream>
    <stream name="TestStreamAU"></stream>
    <stream name="TestStream2"></stream>

    <playlist name="pl1" playOnStream="TestStream" repeat="true" scheduled="2014-02-27 13:00:00">
    <video src="mp4:Test4Eyes01.mp4" start="20" length="20"/>
    <video src="mp4:Test4Eyes02.mp4" start="20" length="20"/>
    </playlist>

    <playlist name="pl2" playOnStream="TestStreamUSA" repeat="true" scheduled="2014-02-27 13:00:00">
    <video src="mp4:PTPlanting_High.mp4" start="200" length="20"/>
    <video src="mp4:PTPlanting_High.mp4" start="300" length="20"/>
    </playlist>

    <playlist name="pl3" playOnStream="TestStreamAU" repeat="true" scheduled="2014-02-27 13:00:00">
    <video src="mp4:sample.mp4" start="30" length="5"/>
    <video src="mp4:PTPlanting_High.mp4" start="300" length="20"/>
    <video src="mp4:Test4Eyes02.mp4" start="40" length="20"/>
    </playlist>

    <playlist name="pl4" playOnStream="TestStream2" repeat="true" scheduled="2014-02-27 13:00:00">
    <video src="mp4:TestStream" start="-2" length="10"/>
    <video src="mp4:TestStreamUSA" start="-2" length="10"/>
    </playlist>

    </body>
    </smil>

    There is no error reported by the server, but when I try to watch TestStream2, it is all black. Connection is established but nothing happens. All other streams work as expected. Can this be made to work? Maybe the behavior can be achieved in some other way? (To switch the same viewer between two or more live sources regardless of the player used.)

    Thanks!
    Atmapuri

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Atmapuri,

    Just remove the mp4: prefix from stream names in pl4 and it should work.

    <playlist name="pl4" playOnStream="TestStream2" repeat="true" scheduled="2014-02-27 13:00:00">
    <video src="TestStream" start="-2" length="10"/>
    <video src="TestStreamUSA" start="-2" length="10"/>
    </playlist>
    If TestStream and TestStreamUSA (from pl1 and pl2) playback, then TestStream2 will work with your settings (start=-2) with those as the sources, with the mp4: prefix removed.

    Richard

  3. #3

    Default

    Wow, that's a pleasant surprise : )

    Another question: On the same server I have another application named TestLive configured as "live-record". The name of the live stream that will be sent to that application is TestStreamLive. How do I modify the playlist on my current application (current application is named TestTV):

    <playlist name="pl4" playOnStream="TestStream2" repeat="true" scheduled="2014-02-27 13:00:00">
    <video src="TestStream" start="-2" length="10"/>
    <video src="TestStreamLive" start="-2" length="10"/>
    </playlist>

    So that it will fetch TestStreamLive from TestLive application?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    You could use the liverepeater. Create a text file with .stream in the /content folder, call it test.stream. Make its contents this:

    rtmp://localhost/TestLive/TestStreamLive

    Then in StreamManager (or /conf/StartUpStreams.xml) start stream named "test.stream" with MediaCaster type "liverepeater" in the application you are using the scheduler.

    Then you can use it in your schedule
    <playlist name="pl5" playOnStream="TestStream3" repeat="true" scheduled="2014-02-27 13:00:00">
    <video src="test.stream" start="-2" length="10"/>
    </playlist>
    Note that you can and should use "localhost" as the IP in the .stream file in your case because the applications are on the same server. The liverepeater is generally used with a remote origin server, so localhost would be changed to the origin IP in that case.

    Richard

  5. #5

    Default

    There are two options to get a live stream to "TestTV" application from another application:

    a.) By pulling
    b.) By pushing

    The live stream is not permanent. At some point it will be happen and then we have the option to switch to it. Assuming that this switch is working (via HTTP Provider) how do you specify stream pulling in this case? Startup streams does not seem to be the right option because they are called only when the server starts. or not?

    Thanks!
    Atmapuri
    Last edited by Atmapuri; 02-27-2014 at 01:32 PM.

  6. #6

    Default

    Hi Atmapuri,

    If the other stream is not live all the time then the better option of the two would be to push it from one application to the other using Push Publish.

    You would configure Push Publish on the application that the original source stream is being published to. In the configuration, you would set the other application as the Push Publish destination. As per Richard's notes above, you would use localhost as the destination host because it is on the same server. Because the stream is being re-published to a different application, you can use the same name as the original stream name.

    When the stream is published, it should immediately show up on the other application as well and then will be available to switch to.

    If you want it to switch immediately, look at using the LoopUntilLive module along side the StreamPublisher.

    Roger.

Similar Threads

  1. resolvePlayAlias and SMIL files
    By vjagannathan in forum General Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-24-2014, 07:21 PM
  2. Generating smil files programatically
    By tan-tan in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-25-2013, 07:01 AM
  3. wowza smil files
    By dana_kabiya in forum General Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-04-2012, 07:13 AM
  4. Live smil files on S3
    By cc0004 in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-08-2011, 08:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •