Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Wowza Transcoder Addon HIGH CPU

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default Wowza Transcoder Addon HIGH CPU

    It still confuse me, the cpu percentage of my server is very low, but the java process %cpu is above 200% and sometimes reach 300% (see PID 2859 below)
    Is my Wowza configuration wrong or something else

    top - 17:15:24 up 23 days,  7:59,  3 users,  load average: 1.12, 1.98, 1.65
    Tasks: 199 total,   1 running, 198 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
    Cpu(s): 13.5%us,  1.0%sy,  0.0%ni, 85.3%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.0%si,  0.2%st
    Mem:  19997612k total,  9577760k used, 10419852k free,   296376k buffers
    Swap:  8385532k total,        0k used,  8385532k free,  6240536k cached
    
      PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND                                                 
    28596 root      20   0 16.1g 1.1g  15m S  222  5.8  39:20.29 java                                                     
    31293 root      20   0 17448 1516 1084 R    1  0.0   0:01.01 top                                                      
      711 mongodb   20   0  342m  38m 9188 S    0  0.2 114:44.76 mongod                                                   
     7912 root      20   0 7195m 273m  12m S    0  1.4  32:57.26 java                                                     
        1 root      20   0 24464 2376 1344 S    0  0.0   0:01.96 init                                                     
        2 root      20   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 kthreadd                                                 
        3 root      20   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:04.00 ksoftirqd/0                                              
        4 root      20   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:24.21 kworker/0:0                                              
        5 root      20   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.33 kworker/u:0                                              
        6 root      RT   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:02.99 migration/0                                              
        7 root      RT   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:06.93 watchdog/0                                               
        8 root      RT   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:03.15 migration/1                                              
        9 root      20   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 kworker/1:0                                              
       10 root      20   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:42.15 ksoftirqd/1                                              
       11 root      RT   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:07.19 watchdog/1                                               
       12 root      RT   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:02.90 migration/2                                              
       13 root      20   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 kworker/2:0                                              
       14 root      20   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:04.52 ksoftirqd/2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    680

    Default

    How many streams are you transcoding here (see benchmarks)? Have you tuned your server?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    i only test 2 stream with about 10 client, the server already tuned. The strange thing is my Cpu(s): 13.5% but why the transcoder cause the PID 28596 java become 222%

Similar Threads

  1. High Cpu usage AMD Opteron Dual CPU Server.
    By djcenk in forum Performance Tuning Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-26-2013, 08:11 AM
  2. Very high CPU usage from Wowza start
    By pr1001 in forum Performance Tuning Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-05-2012, 01:29 PM
  3. Very high CPU - Wowza 3.0.5
    By robw21 in forum Performance Tuning Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-08-2012, 06:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •