Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: HLS Problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    28

    Default HLS Problem

    Hi,

    I just recently switched from HDS to HLS, but since then my movie not playing well!
    I mean while you're watching movie unreasonably it moves forward or backward when bit-rate switching happening.
    For example, I'm watching movie in 00:00:10, then player decide to play better quality. When bit-rate switching happening, movie goes forward without any reason and start playing the new bit-rate on 00:00:20. Or sometimes it goes back and play from 00:00:05!

    Can you please help me with this.

    Thanks a lot.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1,037

    Default

    Hi,
    What you are describing sounds very much like a key-frame alignment problem between the live streams or vod files (depending whether this is live or vod streaming).
    This is how to troubleshoot keyframe alignment for live streaming:

    If you want to troubleshoot vod alignment, you'll need to go through these steps first, make multi bitrate vod streams live while running the debug.

    Daren

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Thanks for your reply.

    So, how can I perform the key-frame alignment in each VoD stream?
    Is it some kind of configuration on the streaming side? Or I have to do the key-frame alignment when I'm encoding things?

    Thanks a lot.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    723

    Default

    Hi,

    Yes, you will need to make sure that the VOD files are properly key-frame aligned during the encoding process.

    You can take a look at this forum post for an example on how to use FFMPEG to generate properly key-frame aligned VOD files:
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/showthre...ples-for-Wowza

    Zoran

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    You need a file encoder that will encode renditions of your stream that are key frame aligned. We have documentation for Expression 4 Encoder here. Note that you need a Expression 4 suite (web or ultimate) to enable the h.264 encoding feature of Expression 4 Encoder.

    Richard

Similar Threads

  1. Problem Switching HLS Streams
    By bighenry in forum Wowza Transcoder
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-28-2014, 10:21 AM
  2. Transcoder and HLS problem
    By Speed666 in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-15-2013, 12:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •