Thread: Suggestions on building delaying timeshift module

Default Suggestions on building delaying timeshift module

Hello wowza community,

Im a java programmer and im looking to develop a timeshifting module that delays a live stream for 6 hours and re stream it out in rtmp.

My question is what would be the best approach for this ?

I know wowza has built in recording for live streams and a lot of different modules and theres probably many ways of doing this, so please any suggestions I really appreciate it.

There are two approaches, and you might combine them.

First, Wowza's nDVR features will work. nDVR has a WindowDuration setting that will be important, how much of the recording is preserved. Then to enforce the 6 hour delay you can use the Playlist Request API

The other approach is using Wowza Live Stream Record and its segmentation features, and this scheduler,which can use files as the source for a live stream rather like a re-run in that everyone sees the stream as live, though it is a file source. You might record in 1 or 2 hour segments, that will feed this schedule. You might work out some naming convention such that the schedule can remain static, but the files it uses are changing because of your re-naming scheme. To facilitate the naming scheme, take a look at IMediaWriterActionNotify

I think the 2nd approach makes more sense for a 6 hour delay. It should be more manageable, precise and the recordings are portable whereas the nDVR recordings are chunked and not useful for other purposes.

Richard
    Last edited by rrlanham; 04-18-2014 at 03:57 AM.

If the scheduler is not flexible enough for your system, you will want to have a look at the Stream class API that it uses.

Richard

Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    If the scheduler is not flexible enough for your system, you will want to have a look at the Stream class API that it uses.

Richard
    thank you Richard this is very helpful