Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How can I pull stream from another wowza server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    2

    Question How can I pull stream from another wowza server

    Hi guys,

    I have two wowza live server A and B.
    For example, A is now publishing stream str0.
    Some one connect to B, he want to play str0, but B does not has str0 published.
    How can B pull str0 from A, and then publish it?

  2. #2

    Default

    Hi there. You can push using the PushPublish addon:
    How to push streams to CDNs and other services
    Or you can pull using Live Stream Repeater:
    How to configure a live stream repeater

    Salvadore

  3. #3

    Default

    Addition:
    With Push Publishing, you can only push the stream from one server to another. With the Live Stream Repeater you can set up as many edge servers as needed and pull the same stream to all of them.

    Salvadore

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Just to clarify, you can push more than one stream to the same server or to several servers, but pulling from an origin using liverepeater is much more scalable, and is recommended when all the servers involved are Wowza servers. Push is typically used to send a stream to CDN that may be using other streaming servers, and is able to scale delivery through its network.

    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi Salvadore & Richard, thanks for all your reply.
    But I do not want live application A and B to be set to origin or edge when they are created.
    I wanna they are dynamic, that is, B may to pull stream0 from A,and A may to pull stream1 from B.
    How I can do it?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    The origin and the edge can both have StreamType "live". When you pull a stream in an edge server from an origin server you start the stream (usually using a .stream file) in the Manager or StreamManager with MediaCaster type "liverepeater"

    Richard
    Last edited by rrlanham; 04-28-2014 at 11:07 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. How to pull a stream from FMS to Wowza
    By divyat in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-22-2015, 05:46 PM
  2. View who pull the stream from Wowza?
    By vicheacheth in forum General Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-09-2013, 02:40 AM
  3. In which condition Wowza have to use Stream Manager to pull upstream
    By spiritsoul in forum Tutorials Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-19-2013, 01:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •