Wowza Community

New to Wowza; Have a few n00b Questions

Hello all,

(Please bear with me, I am technologically literate, but streaming & servers are technologies I need to work on)

I am a producer at a local Public Education/Access channel in Delaware County. We are looking to stream our live TV channel output to the internet, as well as having a library of On-Demand content.

Currently we have a 3rd party streamer called Epiphan VGA/DVI Broadcaster. It has 4 streams: RTSP, MPEG-TS, ASP, and Flash FLV. Those streams work, but makes HTML5 compatibility almost impossible.

I was wondering how we could incorporate Wowza into our workflow.

This is how I am understanding of how Wowza works, please correct me where I am wrong.

I have a dedicated ethernet connected PC (Quick question to any server techs: Is Windows or Linux better for this?) with attached storage. I install Wowza like an application. However, in order to manage Wowza would I have to get comfortable with a minimal level of coding? It seems Wowza is not your typical application. I tried the web demo, and wasn’t really able to get any use out of it.

Once the application is installed and I have it working, I’d then create an “Application” to process the Live Stream. I would set up the stream in Incoming Publishers; with my Epiphan device I can “publish” the stream to certain things (RTSP Announce, RTP/UDP Push, MPEG-TS RTP Push, MPEG-TS RTP/EDP push). So I’d tell my Epiphan device to Push the stream to the internal Wowza IP, and with, what I am assuming is an AddOn, the Wowza Application would then reencode the stream and publish it externally for the world to consume.

This system could then record a live stream and make the files available OnDemand. So if we had an OnDemand library, all of the video files would be located on external harddrives attached to the computer. I also assume we’d need extremely fast drives.