Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Wowza transcoder starting a second small file

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    12

    Default Wowza transcoder starting a second small file

    A little bit about my process
    at 3 PM I start FFMPEQ and have it use UDP to stream mpegTS to wowza 4.0.3 and the transcoder . It streams and records to D:\Recordings\CouncilMeetings.stream_source.mp4 and a few other streams.

    Most days at 12:30 AM ffmpeg stops and wowza closes the file. I rename these files at 1:05 AM to store them as daily archives.

    Some days (about 50% of the time) wowza creates a new recording at 12:32. It creates a new file CouncilMeetings.stream_source.mp4 and so renames my original file to CouncilMeetings.stream_source_0.mp4.

    These new files are very small. In the last week they have been 4K , 8k, and 33k.

    When they are opened in VLC they have 1 second or less of audio. It might be audio coming from my capture card but it's to short for me to tell.

    When I compare the files CouncilMeetings.stream_160p.mp4 CouncilMeetings.stream_486p.mp4 and alll the other stream files they are binary identical. This is likely because there is no video and only audio.

    Any thoughts on what might cause wowza to think a stream is incoming and create these files?


    My event logs for 12:32:

    The WinHTTP Web Proxy Auto-Discovery Service service entered the running state.

    Also

    Fault bucket 611131699, type 5
    Event Name: AEAPPINV2
    Response: Not available
    Cab Id: 0

    Problem signature:
    P1: 48
    P2: 2
    P3: 6.1.1.0
    P4: 1033
    P5: 70
    P6:
    P7:
    P8:
    P9:
    P10:

    Attached files:

    These files may be available here:


    Analysis symbol:
    Rechecking for solution: 0
    Report Id: dc1799af-dff0-11e3-b0ae-b4b52faf9996
    Report Status: 0

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,931

    Default

    Hi,
    How are the files being recorded?

    If the stream has no audio you can use the transcoding template called audioonly.xml as I assume you don't need multiple recording which are identical.
    If you're publishing some stream which do have video and need the template you're using you can copy the audioonly.xml template and rename it to CouncilMeetings.stream.xml
    When the application is configured to match incoming stream names when looking for a transcoding template it will use the above template.

    Please see the article below for configuration assistance if required.
    How to set up and run Wowza Transcoder AddOn for live streaming

    Regards,
    Jason

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Sorry I guess I wasn't clear. I have video and audio in my normal files. The files that are created later on are audio only. It seems to be pulling the audio from some buffer after the video stream has been stopped in ffmpeg.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    This indicates that you did not stop the CouncilMeetings.stream on the Wowza side, so the MediaCaster system starting trying to re-connect. Then it sounds like the encoder is started again somehow briefly, by your descripion.

    If you can, instead of stopping on the FFmpeg or on just stopping on the FFmpeg side, you should stop the CouncilMeetings.stream in the Wowza Manager (or StreamManager or with the MediaCaster API) at about the same time. Then the Wowza MediaCaster system will not try to reconnect.

    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    12

    Default Stopping a stream via command line

    Is there a way to do this via command line? The process is automated.

    Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    This indicates that you did not stop the CouncilMeetings.stream on the Wowza side, so the MediaCaster system starting trying to re-connect. Then it sounds like the encoder is started again somehow briefly, by your descripion.

    If you can, instead of stopping on the FFmpeg or on just stopping on the FFmpeg side, you should stop the CouncilMeetings.stream in the Wowza Manager (or StreamManager or with the MediaCaster API) at about the same time. Then the Wowza MediaCaster system will not try to reconnect.

    Richard

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Hi,

    Take a look at this article on setting up command line interface to Wowza

    Richard

Similar Threads

  1. Smil file reference from wowza transcoder - where - how
    By shueardm in forum Live Streaming and Encoders
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-13-2014, 04:48 AM
  2. Good server environment for small Wowza project
    By marian04 in forum Performance Tuning Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-13-2013, 03:07 PM
  3. Wowza EC2 Small Instance Capacity
    By ggrillo in forum Wowza Media Server 3 for Amazon EC2 Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-17-2012, 04:38 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-19-2012, 03:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •