Wowza Community

Reporting IO Performance to a client that is streaming to the Wowza Server

Hello,

I’m new to Wowza, and our company currently has a trial license. We have a Wowza Server set up using EC2 and the Wowza AMI. We have mobile devices (Android and iOS) that are set up to stream to the server, and I have written some code (using Eclipse and the Wowza IDE) that lets me hook into various methods. For example, I have live-record set up in my Application.xml and I’m using onWriteComplete to publish the file that is persisted to disk to S3, and then POST to our API layer to report the S3 url. Everything in that regard is working well.

We’d like to have something that can report back to the clients (while they are streaming) some IO performance numbers (using the IOPerformanceCounter). The initial thought on this was to have the client call OPTIONS or GET_PARAMETER and set some messages or headers that will contain the information that they need. I have a class set up that implements IRTSPActionNotify so I can hook into onOptions, onGetParameter, etc. which lets me access the IOPerformanceCounter from the RTSP Session (rtspSession.getIOPerformanceCounter()).

Is this the correct/conventional way to do this? If not (or if I’ve overlooked something), what do you recommend?

Below is the current code snippet that adds messages. It seems to work, except that successive OPTIONS requests will cycle through the messages that get printed (the first OPTIONS request prints “bytes_per_second_published_to_server”, the second OPTIONS request prints “bytes_per_second_lost”, the third OPTIONS request prints a generic OPTIONS response, the fourth prints “bytes_per_second_published_to_server” again, etc.)

@Override
		public void onOptions(RTPSession rtspSession, RTSPRequestMessage req, RTSPResponseMessages resp) {
			/*
			 * fileInBytes              =>    for vod total bytes read from file system
			 * fileInBytesRate          =>    for vod rate of bytes read per-second