Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: can't find where was the stream saved

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default can't find where was the stream saved

    Hi,
    I am trying to move from one Wowza server to another. Now I used an pre-build AMI with devkey, and installed on an AWS EC2 instance. All went well, but it seems that the stream is not saved anywhere. First I tried to move the file to a mounted S3 bucket. I was thinking that this was the problem, but I changed the destination to a temp folder in /tmp. Still doesn't seem to work. I am recording from a mic and send the stream to wowza server. The access log seems to create the stream , and tries to publish:
    2014-06-02 08:06:06 UTC create stream INFO 200 - - _defaultVHost_ vod tempFolder 0.001 [any] 1935 rtmp://<publicDNS>/vod/tempFolder 89.35.222.125 rtmp http://<flashRecorderLocation> WIN 13,0,0,214 171168091 155834 4845 1 - 0 0 - - - - 0 0.0 rtmp://<publicDNS>/vod/tempFolder rtmp://<publicDNS>/vod/tempFolder - rtmp://<publicDNS>/vod/tempFolder -
    2014-06-02 08:06:06 UTC create stream INFO 200 - - _defaultVHost_ vod _definst_ 0.0 [any] 1935 rtmp://<publicDNS>/vod 89.35.222.125 rtmp http://<flashRecorderLocation> WIN 13,0,0,214 774290454 155816 4845 1 - 0 0 - - - - 0 0.0 rtmp://<publicDNS>/vod rtmp://<publicDNS>/vod -rtmp://<publicDNS>/vod -
    2014-06-02 08:06:07 UTC publish stream INFO 401 - - _defaultVHost_ vod tempFolder 0.151 [any] 1935 rtmp://<publicDNS>/vod/tempFolder 89.35.222.125 rtmp <flashRecorderLocation> WIN 13,0,0,214 171168091 155914 4886 1 - 0 0 - - - - 0 0.0 rtmp://<publicDNS>/vod/tempFolder rtmp://<publicDNS>/vod/tempFolder - rtmp://<publicDNS>/vod/tempFolder -
    2014-06-02 08:06:07 UTC publish stream INFO 401 - - _defaultVHost_ vod _definst_ 0.15 [any] 1935 rtmp://<publicDNS>/vod 89.35.222.125 rtmp http://<flashRecorderLocation> WIN 13,0,0,214 774290454 155896 4886 1 - 0 0 - - - - 0 0.0 rtmp://<publicDNS>/vod rtmp://<publicDNS>/vod -rtmp://<publicDNS>/vod -

    The flow used before, and that we try also now is : record a sound from a flash recorder, send the stream to wowza server, there the stream is saved to a file on a S3 Bucket, we get the file from there and use it in our app.

    Perhaps I am missing something. I followed the steps described in the server installation guide, and then http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....ed-file-system , but I think something else is wrong.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    Are you publishing a live stream? You are using an application named "vod" which I assume is configured as vod app (StreamType "default"), but you should be using a live application. How are you recording?

    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default

    We are using the "vod" application with StreamType "record". We are using actually a live audio stream that we get from a connected mic. Perhaps some incompatibilities exist because we used an older version of wowza (3.x)? And now we use 4.x ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    Andrei,

    Are you using a Flash client as publisher? If so, make sure you set the NetStream silence level is "0". What is the audio codec, NellyMoser?

    We might need a closer look. If still not working, run a short test and send us results. First enable "cupertinostreamingpacketizer" in the Application.xml /Streams /LiveStreamPacketizers (because there is much codec info in cupertino packetizer logging). Then re-start Wowza, publish the stream and play it back, then stop the stream. Check to see if there is a recording or still not. If not, zip up and send the /conf folder and the current access log showing Wowza re-start and the above test to support@wowza.com

    Include a link to this thread for reference.

    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Richard,

    Indeed we are using a flash client as publisher. I have changed to use the live application. The cupertinostreamingpacketizer is already enabled since we are using prebuilt ami.
    It seems that silence level is already 0 and the codec used is SPEEX.
    It was a security issue for incoming stream. I have passed that.

    Now I have some issues on finding and storing the stream.
    Last edited by andreiWeVideo; 06-19-2014 at 05:10 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Ok. I am almost done, with only one issue left.
    We are creating 2 streams, one used to store the recording (which is working well), and another one used for playback. The one used for playback doesn't seem to work. I have created a tempFolder under /media/ephemeral0/WowzaStreamingEngine/content/live/ and I assumed that the stream is stored there. But when we try to play it back, it gived stream not found error. Any suggestions? Or what should I provide you?

    Many thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    The recording should be in the /content folder where Wowza is installed. Please re-start Wowza, then start the live stream, then test playback of the live stream, then stop the stream and test recording of the recording. Then zip up the /conf folder and the current access log (in the /logs folder) to support@wowza.com. Include a link to this thread for reference

    Richard

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I found the content.
    To clarify current issue:
    We are using the live application to record a stream. After the record is stopped, we want to playback the recorded stream. I managed to playback the live stream, but not the recorded one, after the record was stopped.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    You have to play the file back with a VOD application

    If you are using the WebCamRecording setup, where the Application.xml /StreamType is "default", you can use the same application to playback the stream.

    If the stream is recorded to .flv container in Wowza 4, you have to use flv: prefix to play it back (e.g. "flv:myStream.flv"). Use the test RTMP player in the Wowza Manager.

    Richard

Similar Threads

  1. How do I play a saved stream from a live application?
    By jHouseman in forum Live Streaming and Encoders
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-02-2014, 02:16 PM
  2. How to find out if a client is trying to publish a stream or play a stream?
    By wtoolbox in forum Wowza Streaming Server Java API
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-18-2014, 06:46 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •