Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: HLS chunks start with brief moment of mono audio

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default HLS chunks start with brief moment of mono audio

    Problem

    With most clients, HLS chunks sound fine except for the very first fraction of a second, which sounds like it's in mono. So in VLC for example, every ten seconds you hear very obvious "audio corruption".

    What surprises me is that I can't replicate this listening to the stream on QuickTime Player on Mac OS X. However, if I download a chunk and play it, even in QuickTime, I can clearly hear the moment of mono audio.


    Configuration summary

    I'm using 3.6.4 build 9641. RTMP streams are pushed to a origin HLS packetizer, from which a live repeater is publishing. The packetizer and repeater are different apps on the same instance (to support failover, but that's not enabled while trying to figure out this problem).

    Source => RTMP => origin (packetizer) => live (repeater) => Client


    Sample

    Here's a chunk to listen to: http://bethesignal.org/misc/media_147.aac

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    The file type of the chunk being .aac indicates that this is an audio only stream. You might benefit from this method of writing .ts files instead

    Have you tested without the edge, i.e. direct from the origin?

    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks for your response.

    I noticed and tried the .ts approach, however the stream doesn't play at all in VLC, and is incredibly choppy in QuickTime Player (that's probably fixable with some configuration, but not working in VLC is a bigger problem).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Do you have the same problem when you playback directly from the origin?

    I can hear the anomaly you describe in that .aac chunk.

    Run another test, first restart the origin, start the stream, let it packetize for a minute or two, and test HLS playback directly from the origin and from the edge. Then zip up the origin's /conf and the current access log showing the restart and tests and send to support@wowza.com. Include a link to this thread for reference.

    Also, are you able to upgrade to the latest Wowza 4? If this is a Wowza problem it may be fixed in the latest Wowza 4.

    Richard

Similar Threads

  1. Controlling HLS Media Chunks Naming
    By rubin.gerovski in forum Server-side Modules and Code Samples Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-19-2017, 02:10 AM
  2. List chunks on an HLS live stream
    By steffentchr in forum Wowza Streaming Server Java API
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-22-2014, 02:33 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-04-2013, 03:00 PM
  4. Replace mono audio with stereo from another stream?
    By /usr/local/dick in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-16-2012, 06:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •