Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Secure Token on Origin & Edge Servers

  1. #1

    Default Secure Token on Origin & Edge Servers

    Hello Wowza, I am planning to implement secure token on both edge (CDN) and origin, how can i do that? , i have my JWPLAYER token ready my problem is when i tried to put a token on Wowza, my players says cannot connect to the server hope you guys can help me with this

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    724

    Default

    Hi,

    Please take a look at the "How to add SecureToken protection to JW Player" forum article. You can also find instructions how to configure your Wowza server as well. Here is the direct link.

    Zoran

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    Also take a look at the How to Secure the Origin in this guide

    But note that you need control of the edge server to implement SecureToken between an edge and origin, and between client and edge.

    Richard

  4. #4

    Default

    Hello thanks for your reply guys , I have no complete control on CDN but they have the settings there where i can put the secure token , I put secure token on both origin and edge server using same token but still not working,btw, is it important to match the version of origin and edge server? right now i dont know whats the version of the cdn but were using "Wowza Streaming Engine 4 Monthly Edition 4.0.4 build11775" on our origin server


    Thanks,

  5. #5

    Default

    BTW, they used Wowza version 3.6.3 for Edge CDN and 4.0.4 on origin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,921

    Default

    Hi,
    Yes, I recommend using the same version of Wowza on the origin and edges if possible.
    Do you see anything in the logs which would indicate an issue?

    If you're still unable to get this working, please open a ticket by sending an email to support@wowza.com.
    Please include a detailed description of the setup and issue, a zipped copy of the following directories and a link to this thread for reference.
    [Wowza-Install]/conf/
    [Wowza-Install]/logs/
    [Wowza-Install]/transcoder/
    [Wowza-Install]/manager/logs/
    Please do make sure you provide logs which show Wowza server starting.

    If you are not sure how to get this information please see the following tutorial.
    How to create a compressed zip file in Windows, OS X, and Linux

    Regards,
    Jason

  7. #7

    Default

    Hello we figured that the problem is on CDN, here is what they said:

    "To achieve that, our CDN streaming servers need to authenticate the secure token at the origin wowza. However, with our current CDN implementation (source/origin needs to be public accessible), our CDN streaming servers would not able to restream from your wowza origin if secure token is enabled."

    so i have to find another way to secure (avoid playback) the origin,

    Im not sure if this is good alternative on securing the origin server : http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....sh-Publishing) .

    Its clear to me on how to do this but my problem is how to do it with dynamic stream id, on PushPublishMap.txt the example gives this config:

    myStream={profile:"rtmp", streamName:"myStream", host:"www.mydestination.com"}

    what i want to achieve is something like this:

    [any dynamic strean name]={profile:"rtmp", streamName:"[any dynamic strean name]", host:"www.mydestination.com"}

    is that posible?

    Thanks,

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    22,013

    Default

    You could disable playback from the push application. Make the Application.xml /Client /Access /StreamReadAccess empty (take out the "*")

    <StreamReadAccess></StreamReadAccess>
    And set /RTP /Authentication /PlayMethod "none"

    <PlayMethod>none</PlayMethod>
    And make LiveStreamPacketizers empty

    <LiveStreamPacketizers></LiveStreamPacketizers>
    This will disable all playback, but push will still work.

    Adaptive bitrate is covered in the Push Guide. You will set the adaptiveStreaming:true flag the push rules in the PushPublishMap.txt file

    myStream_480p={profile:"rtmp", streamName:"myStream_480p", userName:"myUser", password:"myPassword", adaptiveStreaming:true}
    myStream_360p={profile:"rtmp", streamName:"myStream_360p", userName:"myUser", password:"myPassword", adaptiveStreaming:true}
    myStream_720p={profile:"rtmp", streamName:"myStream_720p", userName:"myUser", password:"myPassword", adaptiveStreaming:true}
    Richard

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,921

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rrlanham View Post
    And set /RTP /Authentication /PlayMethod "none"
    <PlayMethod>none</PlayMethod>
    Correction*
    To stop RTP/RTSP playback set /RTP /Authentication /PlayMethod "block"

    <PlayMethod>block</PlayMethod>
    Regards,
    Jason

Similar Threads

  1. Origin Edge And secure token
    By asaf32 in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-10-2013, 02:38 AM
  2. Origin -> With RTMPE/Secure Token
    By ptexordium in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-12-2012, 05:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •