Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: item not in cache vod error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13

    Default item not in cache vod error

    Hi,

    I am getting this error " item not in cache " when streaming VOD. I am not using S3 .

    Please help .

    Thanks
    Deepak

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    723

    Default

    Hello,

    This error message typically occurs when the Media Cache addon does not have access to the VOD asset that is being requested by the streaming client.
    Can you make sure that this content is available in the media cache source location? If it is there, can you make sure that it is accessible by media cache?

    Zoran

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    723

    Default

    On second thought, I would like to ask you a question.
    What is your intended setup? Do you want to configure a regular VOD delivery application, or you wish to configure a VOD edge application?

    Zoran

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zoran_u View Post
    On second thought, I would like to ask you a question.
    What is your intended setup? Do you want to configure a regular VOD delivery application, or you wish to configure a VOD edge application?

    Zoran
    Yes a regular VOD delivery Application

    We have Amazon EC2 inbuilt Wowza setup.
    When trying to play video from VOD or VODS3 everytime getting Item not in cache error.
    When Video is live Its playback well(live-record) , but after live I can see file saved in content directory but video doesn't play.

    Error:

    MediaReaderH264.open[1]: java.io.IOException: MediaCacheRandomAccessReader.open: Item not in cache:

    Stream URL used :
    rtmp://<ip>:1935/vod/mp4:streamId.mp4
    rtmp://<ip>/vod/mp4:streamId.mp4
    rtmp://<ip>:1935/vods3/mp4:streamId.mp4

    Wowza version : 3.0.5

    Thanks
    Deepak

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    It sounds like you configured the application in the Wowza Manager as a "vod edge" which uses a web server, or S3, or NAS drive as the content source. You want to configure the application as "vod" to playback local content.

    Richard

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-10-2014, 02:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •