Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ModulePushPublish not working in live repeater node for RTP or MPEGTS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    19

    Default ModulePushPublish not working in live repeater node for RTP or MPEGTS

    I am trying to get the following configuration working

    Live repeater connecting to origin via wowz.
    Live repeater sending out mpegts and rtp via ModulePushPublish (I will pick one or the other after some testing, but have it configured for both right now).

    My PushPublishingMap.txt looks like this:

    live={profile:"mpegts", streamName:"myStreamMPEGTS", host:"239.255.0.1", port:5004, rtpWrap:true}
    live={profile:"rtp", streamName:"myStreamRTP", host:"239.255.0.1", videoPort:10002, audioPort:10004}

    I can confirm that I can play the stream from the Live repeater fine via RTMP.

    But I see no UDP packets in Wireshark (nor can I get anything to play in VLC). I can confirm that if I were to run a test with VLC's Stream command to the same UDP port and IP, I see plenty of UDP packets.

    I do see the following relevant entries in my access log, just no UDP packets:

    2014-07-27 23:48:46 EDT create stream INFO 200 - - _defaultVHost_ live-edge _definst_ 0.012 [any] 1935 rtmp://192.168.55.21:1935/live-edge 192.168.55.21 rtmp http://localhost:8088/enginemanager/...layer/live.swf WIN 14,0,0,145 232410414 3653 3455 1 0 0 0 - - - - - - - - - rtmp://192.168.55.21:1935/live-edge -
    2014-07-27 23:48:46 EDT comment server INFO 200 - LiveMediaStreamReceiver.connect: SSL:false url:wowz://stg-cache-01[192.168.21.50]:1935/live/_definst_/live _defaultVHost_ live-edge _definst_ 29.792 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    2014-07-27 23:48:46 EDT comment server INFO 200 - LiveMediaStreamReceiver.connect: secureTokenResponse: a5b7181d-b95c-4eb7-bee1-bdf10d07298c - - - 29.942 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    2014-07-27 23:48:47 EDT comment server INFO 200 - ModulePushPublish.processChanges[live-edge/_definst_]: New stream[wowz://stg-cache-01:1935/live/_definst_/live] - - - 30.813 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    2014-07-27 23:48:47 EDT comment server INFO 200 - ModulePushPublish.loadMapFile: added stream (live mpegts myStreamMPEGTS): app:live-edge/_definst_ - - - 30.817 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    2014-07-27 23:48:47 EDT comment server INFO 200 - ModulePushPublish.loadMapFile: added stream (live rtp myStreamRTP): app:live-edge/_definst_ - - - 30.818 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    2014-07-27 23:48:47 EDT comment server INFO 200 - ModulePushPublish.loadMapFile: loaded map file (C:/Program Files (x86)/Wowza Media Systems/Wowza Streaming Engine 4.0.5/conf/PushPublishMap.txt): app: live-edge/_definst_ - - - 30.819 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


    I reviewed the instructions at http://www.wowza.com/forums/content.php?491 and observe that I never see this message (even in stdout if running from bin/startup):

    09:33:09 INFO server comment - ModulePushPublish.onAppStart[live/_definst_]: Wowza Push Publishing AddOn 3.5 build9999

    But bec I see the "ModulePushPublish.loadMapFile: added stream" messages, so I think this is just a change in behavior with the 4.0.x engine.

    I have also set pushPublishDebug and pushPublishStreamsDebug to true, but don't see any further details. (Did these properties also change with 4.0.x?)

    One last observation. According to: http://www.wowza.com/forums/content.php?109#MPEG2TS :

    "hen you use MPEG-TS or native RTP to publish, an SDP file is automatically generated in the [install-dir]/applications/[application]/sdp folder. The name of the SDP file is the StreamName value that's specified in the map entry with a .sdp file name extension. Media players that support multicast playback can use this file to play the stream."

    Yet, I don't see such an /sdp folder being created.
    Last edited by raylau; 07-27-2014 at 09:15 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    19

    Default

    After more debugging, it has nothing to do with RTP/MPEG-TS, but rather with ModulePushPublish itself.

    I set up an additional live app within Wowza to test pushing RTMP (no pw required) and while I see:

    2014-07-28 06:12:29 EDT comment server INFO 200 - ModulePushPublish.loadMapFile: added stream (live rtmp myStreamRTMP): app:live-edge/_definst_ - - - 23052.28 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


    Nothing is coming in. The new entry is live={profile:"rtmp", streamName:"myStreamRTMP", host:"localhost", application:"live"} and I can encode there just fine with FMLE.

    So, my real issue seems to be that ModulePushPublish is not actually pushing.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Major clue:

    If I flip the configuration such that ModulePushPublish is running on a live origin app (instead of a live repeater), I can get things to work!

    So, it seems like something is preventing ModulePushPublish from working correctly in a live repeater?

    I am running: Wowza Streaming Engine 4 Trial Edition (Expires: Jan 21, 2015) 4.0.5 build12045

    I see a lot more log messages and can confirm that it is working by playing the stream at the RTMP destination Wowza and via VLC Player viewing MPEGTS multicast.

    2014-07-28 06:49:01 EDT comment server INFO 200 - PushPublishRTMP.connect[rtmp://stg-cache-01:1935/live2/myStreamRTMP] - - - 330.088 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    2014-07-28 06:49:01 EDT comment server INFO 200 - PushPublishRTMP#IdleHandler.create[rtmp://stg-cache-01:1935/live2/myStreamRTMP] - - - 330.093 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    2014-07-28 06:49:01 EDT comment server INFO 200 - ModulePushPublish.startPublishSession[live/_definst_/live]: profile:mpegts udp://239.255.0.1:5004 - - - 330.094 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    Last edited by raylau; 07-28-2014 at 03:58 AM. Reason: added more test results

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    723

    Default

    Hello,

    In order for the PushPublishing to push a stream to the alternate location, this stream needs to be published first on that Wowza server.
    Since you have your live stream being published on the Origin server (and not the Edge server), the PushPublishing is getting triggered and it start pushing the stream according to the configuration from your PushPublishMap.txt file.

    Zoran

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    19

    Default

    I see -- so I am still confused. What would be the proper configuration to get PushPublishing working on an edge server?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    19

    Default

    OK, with some offline help from various folks at Wowza, here's the answer.

    When running as a live repeater, the streams take on a different naming convention. Assuming you are using wowz, they are named like:

    wowz://<origin>:1935/<origin_app>/_definst_/<origin_stream>

    So this would be what the PushPublishingMap matches. This is why it seemed like PushPublishing is not working for live edge.

    However, putting this into the PushPublishingMap throws an exception as of 4.0.5. The trick is to create a StreamNameAlias http://www.wowza.com/forums/content.php?116.

    Then it all works once the stream is active. Note that the stream does not become active unless a client actively pulls it. But this can be achieved with a Startup Stream pointing to rtmp://localhost/<live_edge_app>/<stream alias>.

Similar Threads

  1. Live Stream Repeater edge not working
    By roommini in forum General Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-05-2012, 09:35 AM
  2. Live repeater streams not working
    By Tunebox in forum General Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-01-2012, 02:34 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •