Wowza Community

problems using schedule

Hello, first of all let me introduce myself, I’m pqangel and work for a website where we use wowza to stream live fitness sessions.

This is my first time using wowza and I’m no developer or sysadmin but i try to know my way around.

This being said, I’ve been trying to configure wowza with the scheduler module for quite a long time now but the manual (https://www.wowza.com/docs/how-to-schedule-streaming-with-wowza-streaming-engine-streampublisher ) doesn’t seems to be enough.

I’ve done everything it says in there with many different results but not the one i want.

So far i’ve managed to actually get and play my smil file, but it plays it as soon as i start the server and not when i want it to.

I have added the loadandlock module to the application i want.

I have added the stream modules both to the server listener and the application (pointing it streamschedule.smil)

I have created streamschedule.smil and stored it in /…/Wowza…/content/ although i have also tried the path /…/applications/[appname]/content

here is a copy of my smil, as you can see it’s really basic.

<smil>
    <head>
    </head>
    <body>
        <stream name="Stream1"></stream>
        <playlist name="pl1" playOnStream="Stream1" repeat="false" scheduled="2014-10-11 00:00:29">
            <video src="mp4:myStream_10.mp4" start="0" length="60"/>
        </playlist>
    </body>
</smil>

1.- What I want to do is: record all the live streams (source and transcode) I am streaming in an application name gymoxion

2.- load those recorded files on streamschedule.smil to be played on 3 different streams (stream1, stream2, stream3) at a given date/hour

3.- load those streams on a smil file with a switch to be loaded on jwplayer as an adaptative bit rate stream

so, steps 1 and 3 have been easily acomplished, but step 2 is being a pain in the a**