Wowza Community

Introduce a 30 sec delay to live stream

Hi, all

I have been told by the support that I can use nDVR add-on to introduce a 30 sec delay for my live stream.

Here is my situation:

I have live stream from an IP camera, when user is viewing the live stream from client side, he is actually viewing the 30 sec older camera feed from reality, this is NOT the case which the user can drag the progress bar to play the earlier live stream.

Therefore the user cannot manipulate the video progress bar, and they are view the 30 sec older feed as their ‘live’ stream.

Do not If I explain clear enough…

Is there anyway to achieve that? I have read the nDVR document using this link:https://www.wowza.com/docs/wowza-ndvr

But did not get any luck.

I am new to Wowza, and exploring the possibility for our upcoming new project.

Please help me out here, thanks in advance.

Regards,

Johnny

Hi,

I am also replying you in ticket #111108, but I would like to post my answer here as well so that other Wowza community members can benefit.

To accomplish the scenario you have described you will need to use the Wowza nDVR Playlist Request API. Please take a look at the following forum article describing how to configure nDVR and use this API: How to use Wowza nDVR Playlist Request API

If you want to transcode the IP camera streams into multiple bitrates using the Wowza Transcoder addon, you will need to follow the instructions described in the following forum article: How to set up and run Wowza Transcoder AddOn for live streaming

Please note that the transcoding process is CPU intensive and you will need to perform a series of tests prior to going into production in order to determine the capacity of your server. The following article describes how to configure and use Wowza Streaming Engine media server software to capture transcoder performance benchmark numbers for your specific hardware and operating system configuration.