Wowza Community

How to determine if a recording has completed processing with the rest api

Good morning,

I am a developer and part of the website I am working on involves using wowza to record live streams. I have been communicating the basic api requests to start and stop the recordings with the REST API and this part has been going well. Part of the requirement of the website involves moving the files from their location on the disk to another location once the recording is completed. My issue is determining when the processing and writing of the file is completed by wowza. In the first iteration I have written the filesystem is checked for the existence of the file (’.mp4’ instead of the ‘.tmp’ file) and once it is found then it is read and moved to the new location. This usually did not work, and the output files at the end of the process would be corrupt and not playable. As a simple test to see what the problem was, I just had my program wait for a minute after the ‘stopRecording’ message was sent to the API, and then proceed. So far this has passed all tests leading me to believe this is the issue.

So then my question becomes: is there a call on the API which can be performed which queries if the file is finished being written to disk yet? Otherwise I will have to do something more low level to determine this.

Thank you for reading.

Hello there,

There was a similar question answered in this post:

How to get the recording status of a stream when using liveStreamRecord

see if that is what you are looking for.

Kind regards,

Salvadore

I am sorry, I do not have much experience working with this API at the moment.

Have you seen this module, it may have the functionality you are looking for:

How to move recordings from live streams (ModuleMediaWriterFileMover)

And you may have already seen this guide, but just in case:

How to access documentation for Wowza Streaming Engine REST APIs