Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: CEA-608 Captions not surviving transcoding

  1. #1

    Default CEA-608 Captions not surviving transcoding

    Hello,
    I have two Wowza systems working in tandem, the first is creating a Stream which runs a Playlist and injects captions via onTextData calls. The resulting stream is pushed to the second Wowza instance which transcodes the stream for HLS delivery.

    On the transcoding system, I have enabled the ModuleOnTextDataToCEA608 module and configured it to add the captions to each transcode result by setting closedCaptionLiveEnableTranscoderResults = true.

    When the debugging is turned on (closedCaptionLiveLogOnTextDataEvents=true) I can see that the module IS detecting the incoming text data events and is attempting to send them through the transcoded streams:

    2015-07-14	21:13:25	UTC	comment	server	INFO	200	-	ModuleOnTextDataToCEA608#OnTextDataHandler.onCallback[live/_definst_/999]: ccTextBlock:♪ PUT YOUR HANDS UP MAKE 'EM TOUCH ♪
    2015-07-14	21:13:26	UTC	comment	server	INFO	200	-	ModuleOnTextDataToCEA608#OnTextDataHandler.onCallback[live/_definst_/999_160p]: ccTextBlock:♪ PUT YOUR HANDS UP MAKE 'EM TOUCH ♪
    2015-07-14	21:13:26	UTC	comment	server	INFO	200	-	ModuleOnTextDataToCEA608#OnTextDataHandler.onCallback[live/_definst_/999_source]: ccTextBlock:♪ PUT YOUR HANDS UP MAKE 'EM TOUCH ♪
    However, when playing back the resulting streams, the captions do not exist. The captions DO exist when I play back the "999" stream, but neither "999_160p" nor "999_source" contain any caption data.
    Can you provide any advice on how to address this?

    The pertinent parts of the Application.xml are below:
    <Module>
      <Name>ModuleOnTextDataToCEA608</Name>
      <Description>ModuleOnTextDataToCEA608</Description>
      <Class>com.wowza.wms.timedtext.live.module.ModuleOnTextDataToCEA608</Class>
    </Module>
    ...
    <Properties>
    			<Property>
    				<Name>closedCaptionLiveCharacterSet</Name>
    				<Value>UTF-8</Value>
    			</Property>
    			<Property>
    				<Name>closedCaptionLiveLogOnTextDataEvents</Name>
    				<Value>true</Value>
    				<Type>Boolean</Type>
    			</Property>
    			<Property>
    				<Name>closedCaptionLiveEnableTranscoderResults</Name>
    				<Value>true</Value>
    				<Type>Boolean</Type>
    			</Property>
    </Properties>
    Thank you

  2. #2

    Default

    ::bump::

  3. #3

    Default

    What version of WSE are you using?

    Scott

  4. #4

    Default

    4.2.0

  5. #5

    Default

    ::bump::

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    143

    Default

    Hello,

    Sweeping through the forums and tying this forum post to the support request: 135735

    If you experience this issue, please refer to the support request above or include this forum post in your new support request.

    Regards,

    Mac

Similar Threads

  1. How can we add CEA-608 captions at the time of transcoding
    By Aiman Kazi in forum Closed Captioning
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-23-2015, 09:47 AM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-09-2015, 10:56 PM
  3. Embedded CEA-608 captions in live streams
    By Atmapuri in forum Closed Captioning
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-17-2015, 12:07 AM
  4. Live Captions Not Being Recorded
    By danwestman in forum Closed Captioning
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-02-2013, 12:10 PM
  5. Live 608/708 captioning
    By markeast in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-29-2012, 07:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •