Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Windows firewall blocks Wowza

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2015

    Default Windows firewall blocks Wowza

    I'm using the free trial of Wowza on Windows 10 Enterprise. The Windows firewall blocks port 1935. When I disable the Windows firewall, I can connect just fine, but I want to use the Windows firewall.

    I see no entry for a Wowza app in the firewall rules. I looked at Services and found the binary in \program files (x86) which gets started. It's nssm_64.exe. I manually added that to the firewall rules, but it still didn't work. I already have a copy of Java installed on this PC, if that matters.

    How should I proceed?
    Last edited by m34567; 10-22-2015 at 03:41 PM.

  2. #2



    In Windows 10, if you open Windows Firewall and Advanced Security, you will need to create a new Inbound Rule to allow for connections on port 1935. If you click on "New Rule" and select "Port" instead of "Program", you should be able to build a TCP rule for port 1935, allowing these inbound connections.

    Best regards,

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2015


    Thanks, that did the trick.

  4. #4


    Thanks for the update. Glad you got this sorted.


Similar Threads

  1. ModuleHotlinkDenial blocks localhost Testing Players
    By helihans in forum General Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-25-2014, 12:35 PM
  2. Why wowza blocks some IPs without I asked it?
    By greenf in forum Wowza Media Server 3 for Amazon EC2 Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-27-2012, 01:53 AM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-09-2012, 03:11 PM
  4. Upgrading Wowza 2 to Wowza 3 on Windows - familiar with Linux but not Windows
    By dmahoney in forum Server Administration Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-14-2012, 08:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts