Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Server Monitoring Dashboards are blank

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    19

    Default Server Monitoring Dashboards are blank

    I am running Wowza Streaming Engine on Win Server 2012.

    Server Monitoring I can see the stats for current usage but all other dashboards are blank:

    Connections
    Network
    Memory
    Total Disk

    The streaming server works and I can produce live and on demand streams just can't get the stats.
    The dashboards did work previously (last week). I am investigating if any updates have been applied that may have caused this, any known updates or patches that can break server monitoring?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    302

    Default

    Hi,

    As a troubleshooting guide:
    1. Make sure that you have correctly enabled monitoring.
    2. Many issues with monitoring is due to the OS date/time. For example, if a change in the date/time settings resulted in the historical stat data being incorrect. You may see "time jump" errors in the access log. To resolve this, you will need to make sure that your date/time/timezone settings are correct for your OS, archive or move the contents of the stats folder in your Wowza installation, and restart the Wowza services to re-generate the stats files.
    3. The stats files are corrupted. If so, follow the resolution in step 2 above.


    Michelle

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    19

    Default Server Monitoring Dashboards are blank

    Quote Originally Posted by michelle_b View Post
    Hi,

    As a troubleshooting guide:
    1. Make sure that you have correctly enabled monitoring.
    2. Many issues with monitoring is due to the OS date/time. For example, if a change in the date/time settings resulted in the historical stat data being incorrect. You may see "time jump" errors in the access log. To resolve this, you will need to make sure that your date/time/timezone settings are correct for your OS, archive or move the contents of the stats folder in your Wowza installation, and restart the Wowza services to re-generate the stats files.
    3. The stats files are corrupted. If so, follow the resolution in step 2 above.


    Michelle
    Thanks for the information. I applied the steps as suggested.

    the server and the streaming engine appear to have the same system time. Its a remote server so I am not in the same time zone as the server physically.
    moved the stats file, stopped and started resources, even rebooted the server same result. I see new files where created in the stats folder so I know that worked.
    I can stream so verified I have a rtmp stream. The current usage monitor works but none of the others.

    Could it be a java version issue?

    Thanks...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    724

    Default

    Hi,

    Do you get the same blank graphs if you select to see the older server stats (last 3 days, last 7 days)?
    Did you try clearing your browser's cache?

    Zoran

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    19

    Default Blank Graphs

    Quote Originally Posted by zoran_u View Post
    Hi,

    Do you get the same blank graphs if you select to see the older server stats (last 3 days, last 7 days)?
    Did you try clearing your browser's cache?

    Zoran

    Yes the graphs remain blank no matter what time span I choose. I have stopped and restarted services and rebooted the server. Yes I cleared the browser cache also.

  6. #6

    Default

    If you are still having this issue with the graphs, please open a ticket with the support team by following the steps outlined here

    Best,

    Salvadore

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Was there any resolution to this? I'm having the same issue.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    19

    Default Server Monitoring Dashboards are blank

    Quote Originally Posted by jbooker View Post
    Was there any resolution to this? I'm having the same issue.
    Since I was running a test install on a test server I just reloaded the a new VM to resolve the issue. I suspect there was a java issue there was a java upgrade that took place after prior to the dashboards going blank. WSE functioned as expected except for monitoring. I was testing an additional monitoring tool also WMSPanel which also failed to work on that install. So the short answer may be to do a fresh install if that's possibility or check the version of java installed and see if an upgrade took place recently.

  9. #9

    Default

    Hi,

    We've seen this occur when the Virtual Host can't assign a Host Port due to some other process being bound to it. So if it does happen for anyone else check your wowzastreamingengine_access.log for any BIND failures being reported. If so then change the port on one of the services to prevent them from clashing.


    Regards,

    Paul

Similar Threads

  1. Incoming Stream Disappears-Blank video on live stream - Cisco TCS integration
    By robertdesimone in forum Live Streaming and Encoders
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-29-2015, 02:33 AM
  2. Active stream but blank/empty video
    By rohanp in forum General Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-10-2015, 09:01 AM
  3. Stats Graphs are Blank
    By abaldwin in forum General Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-10-2014, 09:44 AM
  4. Creating a "blank" rtmp stream
    By rhertogh in forum Server-side Modules and Code Samples Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-18-2013, 01:55 PM
  5. Video track missing or blank in recording
    By bryanthrasher in forum General Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-04-2013, 04:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •