Wowza Community

Wowza is having 15 - 25 second delay on LAN. (Live Stream using JW Player)

Hello everyone!

First, thanks so much for taking some of your time to help me with this. I will describe what I have done and what I am getting. I would also like to let you know that I’m a newbie on this.

This is my scenario:

• My PC: 8Gb Ram / Core i7

• I’m working with the Wowza trial version. (To see if this tool really works for me)

• I’m streaming from an Android device (Gocoder) (352x288 / 280 kbps / Just Video)

• I have updated the server to production performance.

• I have to stream that live streaming to Android AND iOS devices.

• I followed these steps to reduce the latency.

• I’m using JW Player and followed the steps you can see on this page. “Simple RTMP and Apple HLS streaming example” section. (Self-Hosted mode)

• I have a WAMP server installed, where I have created a demo web page. There I implemented the JWPlayer as you can see above.

And now the thing is that, when I open on Chrome the demo web page I created for testing on WAMP and reproduce the Live Video using JWplayer on the computer where I have installed the Wowza Server. I’m getting 1 sec delay. (Great!)

BUT when access the demo web page I created for testing on WAMP, with an Android OR iOS device I’m getting 15-25 secs delay. This is happening in LAN so I think this shouldn’t have that long delay.

Notes:

• I have also tried using the “Cloud-Hosted Player” version on JWPlayer, but the delay is also too long.

• For some reason, when I remove the .m3u8 link from the example below the “Simple RTMP and Apple HLS streaming example” section of this page, the video cant be reproduced. I really need to add the rtmp (android) version in the example to reproduce the video. Im not sure why this is happening.

I already saw this thread:

Testing Wowza on LAN - is a 10-20 second delay typical?

And followed the recommendations the community gave to “leonardteo” but the delay is still too long.