Wowza Community

How to find out, if a module works

Hi,

I’m new to Wowza PlugIn Development and finished this tutorial:

https://www.wowza.com/docs/how-to-extend-wowza-streaming-engine-using-the-wowza-ide

Eclipse sucessfully created the .jar file in Wowza’s lib folder, I also was able to add the module to an application via the web interface and it appears in the application’s XML file, but it looks like the onAppStart()-method never triggers. I tried restarting the server, the application via the web interface, and I also restarted the service itself. Is there a way to check, if the module is available at all? The error log has no entries. Or can I somehow call the doSomething()-method that was created by the wizard manually, to check if the module works without relying on the events?

Thanks a lot!

Hi Rehakles,

This would depend on what your custom module does. You can normally include additional logging information by calling the getLogger() method to troubleshoot your module. The doSomething method that is automatically generated is just an example module. You would still need to have a mechanism of calling the method from within your custom module. Can you post your custom code here? Alternatively, you can send in a developer support request if you would like to keep your code confidential.

Michelle

Michelle

Hi,

Can you confirm that the jar file is located in /lib? The message does seem to indicate that it can’t be located. If it is and you’re sure it is named correctly and set up correctly in your application then zip up your /conf and /logs and /lib, open a support ticket and we can take a closer look.

Paul

Hi Michelle,

thanks for the reply. The code is the exact code from the linked tutorial (except the class and package name). We have now found out, that the module only triggers once a stream is started. The application start itself is not enough. Now we have the next error: