Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: how to transcode various Web TV (ASX, HTTP, MMS, etc.) simultaneously?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default how to transcode various Web TV (ASX, HTTP, MMS, etc.) simultaneously?

    Hello everyone,
    I am new to WOWZA. I read some documentation.

    My goal is to transcode the same time, in real time, many IPTV and then obtain an output signals compatible with Android.
    Through the control panel (http://[wowza-address]:8086/streammanager), I have successfully transcoded dozens of addresses RTMP simultaneously (To do this I followed this guide: http://www.wowza.com/forums/content.php?41)

    Now I have a problem! I have to transcode tv channel format like MMS, ASX, etc. ..
    I read that Wowza does not support these formats.
    So I installed VLC and I followed this guide: http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....ver-%28MPEG-TS
    I was able to successfully transcode a single channel MMS.

    My question is: how do I transcode multiple channels (video format MMS, ASX etc. ..) and then pass them to Wowza?

    I would administer all the channels from the control panel Wowza


    thanks for any response

    Note: Sorry for my bad English but I am Italian

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    456

    Default

    Hello,
    Your English is very good. You can use VLC to transcode to H.264 and then create a .stream file containing the url for the stream which you'll start in Stream Manager. You could have multiple instances of VLC and point to multiple Wowza applications.

    Once you've tested your setup, you may want to use StartupStreams.xml instead to configure and publish your streams. See this article for more information, http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....Streams.xml%29

    -Lisa

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    thanks for the answer! I did not know this file "StartupStreams.xml". It is very useful!

    I did a test. For example, I have two channels RTMP format, transcode to Android:

    channel 1: rtmp://cp86825.live.edgefcs.net/live/cielo_std@17630
    channel 2: rtmp://rtl-livestream4me.weebo.it/live/radiovisione_02

    This is the procedure I followed:

    -I create a folder named application "live"
    -I create a folder named Configuration "live" and inside I copy the file "application.xml"
    -Setting up the file "application.xml" according to the guide: http://www.wowza.com/forums/content.php?41
    -In the folder "content" I create two files: channel1.stream and channel2.stream. In these two files I post the web addresses of the two-channel format RTMP
    -I have modified the file "StartupStreams.xml" adding that:

    <StartupStream>
    <Application>live/_definst_</Application>
    <MediaCasterType>liverepeater</MediaCasterType>
    <StreamName>channel1.stream</StreamName>
    </StartupStream>

    <StartupStream>
    <Application>live/_definst_</Application>
    <MediaCasterType>liverepeater</MediaCasterType>
    <StreamName>channel2.stream</StreamName>
    </StartupStream>

    -Through my Android phone, I launched the addresses: rtsp://IpMyServer:1935/live/channel1.stream and rtsp://IpMyServer:1935/live/channel2.stream
    -It works! Perfect! The channels can be seen very well!






    Now, I want to transcode two-channel format is not compatible with Wowza. So I use VLC.
    For example:

    channel 3: http://mediapolis.rai.it/relinker/re...let.htm?cont=1
    channel 4: mms://67.205.74.37/telereggio


    -From the command line of my server I write:

    vlc -vvv "http://mediapolis.rai.it/relinker/relinkerServlet.htm?cont=1" --sout "#transcode{venc=x264{keyint=60,profile=baseline,level=3.0,nocabac},vcodec=x264,vb=150,scale=0.5,aco dec=mp4a,ab=96,channels=2,samplerate=48000}:rtp{dst=IpMyServer,port=10000,mux=ts}"

    and then:

    vlc -vvv "mms://67.205.74.37/telereggio" --sout "#transcode{venc=x264{keyint=60,profile=baseline,level=3.0,nocabac},vcodec=x264,vb=150,scale=0.5,aco dec=mp4a,ab=96,channels=2,samplerate=48000}:rtp{dst=IpMyServer,port=10000,mux=ts}"


    -In the folder "content" I create two files: channel3.stream and channel4.stream. Now I believe that something wrong here. In these two files I put in the same address: udp: / / 0.0.0.0:10000

    -I modified the file "StartupStreams.xml" adding that:

    <StartupStream>
    <Application>live/_definst_</Application>
    <MediaCasterType>rtp</MediaCasterType>
    <StreamName>channel3.stream</StreamName>
    </StartupStream>

    <StartupStream>
    <Application>live/_definst_</Application>
    <MediaCasterType>rtp</MediaCasterType>
    <StreamName>channel4.stream</StreamName>
    </StartupStream>

    -Finally, through my Android phone, I launched the addresses: rtsp://IpMyServer:1935/live/channel3.stream and rtsp://IpMyServer:1935/live/channel4.stream . This time do not work!. But if I do this process with vlc for one channel, it works. But I need to do for so many channels simultaneously.

    I maybe I was wrong to set the file contents: "channel3.stream" and "channel4.stream"?


    Can anyone help me?
    thank you very much
    Last edited by darkos1; 12-15-2011 at 04:55 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,933

    Default

    Hi
    For each VLC instance that you run, you should set a different port because now they all try and run off port 10000.
    You should make them like this:
    Channel 1 = Port 10010
    Channel 2 = Port 10020
    Channel 3 = Port 10030
    Channel 4 = Port 10040

    You will also have to change your stream files accordingly.

    Jason

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks for the reply! So I did this:

    -Inside the the file "channel3.stream" I put "udp://0.0.0.0:10010"
    -Inside the file "channel4.stream" I put "udp://0.0.0.0:10020"

    -Then, from the command line of my server I write:

    vlc -vvv "http://mediapolis.rai.it/relinker/relinkerServlet.htm?cont=1" --sout "#transcode{venc=x264{keyint=60,profile=baseline,l evel=3.0,nocabac},vcodec=x264,vb=150,scale=0.5,aco dec=mp4a,ab=96,channels=2,samplerate=48000}:rtp{ds t=IpMyServer,port=10010,mux=ts}"

    and then:

    vlc -vvv "mms://67.205.74.37/telereggio" --sout "#transcode{venc=x264{keyint=60,profile=baseline,l evel=3.0,nocabac},vcodec=x264,vb=150,scale=0.5,aco dec=mp4a,ab=96,channels=2,samplerate=48000}:rtp{ds t=IpMyServer,port=10020,mux=ts}"


    -Finally, through my Android phone, I launched the addresses: rtsp://IpMyServer:1935/live/channel3.stream and rtsp://IpMyServer:1935/live/channel4.stream





    Final result: 2 channels look ugly. Sometimes the video or audio from one channel will not start. If I try to stop and leave the other one, it works well.


    The procedure is right? I'm doing wrong?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Sounds like you are doing it right as far as starting streams and playing them back. The ugly result is probably a result of bandwidth limitations. Try with one stream, and try each of the different streams one at a time. If they are all okay one at a time or at least much better than with two at a time, that indicates bandwidth problem between VLC and Wowza.

    Also, test with Wowza LiveVideoStreaming Flash player running on same server or lan, to see how the streams are playing factoring out Android.

    Richard

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thank you for answer! Two last questions:

    -How do I run two, three, four, etc. VLC instances simultaneously from the command line? It is also possible to start automatically each time you reboot the server, all instances of transcoding with VLC?
    -How do I start Wowza automatically at every reboot?

    Thanks for the help

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    I can't really help with VLC at that level, I'm not sure. If I am right, it is a bandwidth problem.

    Start Wowza as a service for it to start on reboot

    Richard

Similar Threads

  1. .stream file as http url for web player
    By iiiyxxx in forum General Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-30-2014, 01:11 PM
  2. Transcode HTTP Smooth Streaming to RTSP
    By nuno.neto in forum General Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-01-2012, 09:28 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •