Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Play VOD file as a Live Stream from S3

  1. #1

    Default Play VOD file as a Live Stream from S3

    In summary, here's what I need help with:

    1. Be able to play a VOD file as a live stream
    2. Be able to control the start and stop events of the VOD file playing on the live stream
    3. The file is hosted on Amazon S3


    Ultimately, I want to be able to publish a live stream, then trigger a VOD file to play from Amazon S3 during the live event, all while recording them to a single file using the Live Stream Recording Module.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    You can create a live stream from static content, but not a file stored on S3. The only way is use s3fs to mount a bucket and make it a content location, but that's not recommended, it might not work well. Otherwise you would have to use MediaCache (or vods3 on ec2 instance) and I don't think there is a way to mix vod MediaCache stream with Stream class, it has to be local content. (steps below)

    Here are various Stream Class links:

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....-Class-Example
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....t-in-smil-file
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....eam-controller
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....tching-example

    For finer control, take a look at the IPublishingProvider API
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/showthre...de-live-stream

    Richard
    Last edited by rrlanham; 01-10-2012 at 12:50 PM.

  3. #3

    Default

    Thanks - I was able to create live streams from static content and record from there. There is about 5 seconds of black though when I append live streams to an already existing file. Any idea why that's happening?

    Bummer on the S3 limitation though. Any plans to make this work in the future? For now, I'll have to find a way to get specific files from S3 and FTP them over to origin somehow... makes it harder when there are redundant streaming servers too.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    I might be wrong about s3 limitation... I will test that and return.

    Richard

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Yes, correction, you can use MediaCache resource in live application as a source for Stream class streams.

    Install MediaCache Addon, add the MediaCache randomAccessReaderClass Property to the /conf/live/Application.xml /MediaReader /Properties, or whatever application you are running the scheduler on. Then you can reference resource located on a web server in the schedule.smil:
    <smil>
        <head>
        </head>
        <body>
            <stream name="Stream1"></stream>        
            <playlist name="pl1" playOnStream="Stream1" repeat="true" scheduled="2009-12-11 16:24:00">
                <video src="mp4:http/[web-content-server]/sample.mp4" start="0" length="-1"/>
            </playlist>
        </body>
    </smil>
    Playback in Wowza LiveVideoStreaming player:

    Server: rtmp://[wowza-address]:1935/live
    Stream: Stream1

    Richard

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Hi Richard,

    I'm still finding my way around wowza so please forgive me if this is an easy fix. I'm trying to stream VoD content as live from an http source. I've gone through the installation of MediaCache Addon but it doesn't seem to be working correctly. Here is the error I get on debug mode. Thanks again for the help

    DEBUG server comment - MediaReaderH264.mp4ReadAheadSize: 65536
    DEBUG server comment - MediaReaderH264.mp4ReadAheadTrigger: 32768
    DEBUG server comment - MediaReaderH264.mp4IndexBufferSize: 16384
    DEBUG server comment - MediaReaderH264.randomAccessReaderClass: com.wowza.wms.plugin.mediacache.impl.MediaCacheRandomAccessReader
    DEBUG server comment - MediaCache.acquireReader[http://media2.ms.kitd.com/mm/flvmedia/73/i/0/1/i01y623g_ae0eg36n_h264_1328K.mp4]: createNew
    DEBUG server comment - MediaCacheSourceBasic.canHandle[http]: false mediaName:http://media2.ms.kitd.com/mm/flvmedia/73/i/0/1/i01y623g_ae0eg36n_h264_1328K.mp4 prefix:http/
    WARN server comment - MediaCache.createNewCachItem: Cannot find MediaCacheSource for (http://media2.ms.kitd.com/mm/flvmedia/73/i/0/1/i01y623g_ae0eg36n_h264_1328K.mp4).
    DEBUG server comment - MediaCache.acquireReader[http://media2.ms.kitd.com/mm/flvmedia/73/i/0/1/i01y623g_ae0eg36n_h264_1328K.mp4]: createNew
    DEBUG server comment - MediaCacheSourceBasic.canHandle[http]: false mediaName:http://media2.ms.kitd.com/mm/flvmedia/73/i/0/1/i01y623g_ae0eg36n_h264_1328K.mp4 prefix:http/
    WARN server comment - MediaCache.createNewCachItem: Cannot find MediaCacheSource for (http://media2.ms.kitd.com/mm/flvmedia/73/i/0/1/i01y623g_ae0eg36n_h264_1328K.mp4).
    WARN server comment http://media2.ms.kitd.com/mm/flvmedia/73/i/0/1/i01y623g_ae0eg36n_h264_1328K.mp4 MediaReaderH264.open[1]: java.io.IOException: MediaCacheRandomAccessReader.open: Item not in cache: http://media2.ms.kitd.com/mm/flvmedia/73/i/0/1/i01y623g_ae0eg36n_h264_1328K.mp4
    INFO server comment - ServerListenerStreamPublisher PlayList Item Start: mp4:http://media2.ms.kitd.com/mm/flvmedia/73/i/0/1/i01y623g_ae0eg36n_h264_1328K.mp4
    INFO server comment - Stream.switch[live/_definst_/Stream1]: index: 0 name:mp4:http://media2.ms.kitd.com/mm/flvmedia/73/i/0/1/i01y623g_ae0eg36n_h264_1328K.mp4 start:0 length:-1
    Last edited by ezbon.jacob; 02-27-2012 at 08:42 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,933

    Default

    Hi
    If you follow the steps above this should work fine, double check what you have done for MediaCache and check for typos or spelling mistakes.

    Jason

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Turning off DEBUG logging should help. Set it back to default INFO level.

    Richard

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    7

    Default

    I have checked for spelling mistakes and I don't see anything. The server runs its just that using live client player when it connects to the stream I get no video or audio. I'm running the server with ./startup.sh and it keeps saying that it cannot find the mp4 from the link but if you go to the link directly it is there.


    WARN server comment - MediaCache.createNewCachItem: Cannot find MediaCacheSource for (http://www.mediacollege.com/video/format/mpeg4/videofilename.mp4).
    WARN server comment - MediaCache.createNewCachItem: Cannot find MediaCacheSource for (http://www.mediacollege.com/video/format/mpeg4/videofilename.mp4).
    WARN server comment http://www.mediacollege.com/video/format/mpeg4/videofilename.mp4 MediaReaderH264.open[1]: java.io.IOException: MediaCacheRandomAccessReader.open: Item not in cache: http://www.mediacollege.com/video/format/mpeg4/videofilename.mp4
    INFO server comment - ServerListenerStreamPublisher PlayList Item Start: mp4:http://www.mediacollege.com/video/format/mpeg4/videofilename.mp4
    INFO server comment - Stream.switch[live/_definst_/Stream1]: index: 0 name:mp4:http://www.mediacollege.com/video/format/mpeg4/videofilename.mp4 start:0 length:-1

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    The file is there.

    Is StreamType set to "live"?

    Zip up conf folder and current access and error log and send to support@wowza.com

    Richard

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •