Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Dynamic Transcoder Overlays

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2

    Question Dynamic Transcoder Overlays

    I got invitation for NAB 2012 and one of the topic is "Dynamic Transcoder Overlays".
    Could anyone know what it is ?
    Is it dynamically adding video into stream ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    This is about image overlays for the transcoded streams. They can be configured and/or programmed.

    Richard

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Thanx Richard,
    A nice add on which will not only reduce the load on the servers to stream content but also add the water mark on fly.
    Any example configuration. Is it to be done via template root or we can specify the same in application config.

    Does this transcode the video or just add a layer.

    I been using jwplayer to achieve the same. It would be great to move to wowza.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,934

    Default

    Hi
    I understand this functionality is new and for more information its best ask support@wowza.com

    Jason

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    The configuration for overlay is in the default transrate.xml and transcode.xml templates

    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....wza-Transcoder

    Richard

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Thanx Richard,
    Does it do a full transcode of the video while streaming or just add a layer.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    456

    Default

    The stream is transcoded. To clarify, the released Transcoder AddOn already supports overlays and can be configured through the template. The sample templates (transrate.xml, transcode.xml) templates in [install-dir]/transcoder/templates show sample configuration in the Overlays property.

    Dynamic overlays is new and was demo'd at NAB. This feature is not yet available and no release date set yet. An API will be available to dynamically update the overlay - title, ticker, animated graphic.

    -Lisa

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Thanks Lisa,
    This would me much awaited add on as this will reduce the load substantially for transcoding.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default

    What's the status of an API or method to dynamically update overlays? This thread seems old, but I can't find anything relevant on the wowza website. Has this been released?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    456

    Default

    The dynamic overlays feature with Wowza Transcoder AddOn was demo'd at recent trade shows and we're collecting user input. This feature is not yet available.

    -Lisa

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Transcoder + Dynamic Overlay + Server Side playlist
    By Speed666 in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-01-2014, 02:39 AM
  2. Possible or not? Dynamic Overlays
    By mediaguyz in forum Wowza Transcoder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-05-2014, 10:29 AM
  3. Transcoder dynamic templates
    By tan-tan in forum AddOn: Transcoder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-28-2013, 09:23 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-29-2013, 06:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •