Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: [Tanscoding] cannot find transcoding menu/function

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    10

    Default [Tanscoding] cannot find transcoding menu/function

    Hi all,

    I am monthly license user. However, I cannot find the transcoding related files inside the folder of Wowza Streaming Engine 4.1.2 and no related menu options on http://localhost:8088/enginemanager/..._defaultVHost_

    Would anyone know how to enable the transcoding function?

    PS: I've updated the license key because when visiting http://localhost:1935/ , I can see the monthly license.

    thanks

  2. #2

    Default

    Hello,

    The transcoding template files are located in "[install-dir]/transcoder/templates/".

    The following article describes how to enable transcoding on a live stream.

    Best regards,
    Andrew

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Hi, Andrew,

    1. There is no [install-dir]/transcoder/ folder in my installed machine.
    2. When I browse the "live" menu, there is no "transcoder" option shown on the webpage.

    I installed http://www.wowza.com/downloads/Wowza...-4.1.2.rpm.bin on the linux machine. Is there any configuration I missed?

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,934

    Default

    Hi,
    Please ensure your server meets the requirements to run the transcoder.
    The Wowza Transcoder requires a 64-bit operating systems and a 64-bit version of Java.

    Please check your log file and search for the Wowza start-up information, this should give more information on the server.

    Regards,
    Jason

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Hi, Jason,

    Here comes the result I observed. If I use the trial-key to install Wowza Streaming Engine 4.1.2 and hereafter I update my key to a monthly-key, the transcoding option menus doesn't appear. But if I use the monthly-key to install Wowza Streaming Engine 4.1.2, the transcoding menus will show from http://localhost:8088/enginemanager/...live/live/main.

    I'll keep trying if the transcoding works fine with my monthly-key on 64-bit linux environment.

    thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,934

    Default

    Hi,
    I not sure how that's possible, please create a ticket with our support team by sending an email to support@wowza.com.
    When creating a ticket, please attach a ZIP file containing the [Wowza-Install]/conf/ and [Wowza-Install]/logs/ directories for analysis.

    Ensure that you create a copy of these files after installing with a Trial, starting Wowza and then changing the license key to a Monthly and restarting Wowza so the new key is used.
    The startup information that Wowza prints to the log file should show if the transcoder is available.

    Regards,
    Jason

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    357

    Default

    Hi,

    This has been addressed in ticket#139808. Based on the logs, the installation was done on a Mac OSX, which is not currently supported as an operating system for Transcoder.

    Michelle

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-08-2012, 09:21 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-23-2011, 09:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •