Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: test player stream not working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    5

    Default test player stream not working

    HI All,

    Have just completed my first install...all went well :-) however when I try to play the test movie demo...nothing....blank screen....it says 'playing' in the bottom of the player but....no stream.....am i missing something?? Java is installed version 7.....

    Thanks

    /M

  2. #2

    Default

    Hello there.

    Can you explain in more detail about your test? Are you test a VOD application with a sample player that shipped with Wowza? If not I would test the default VOD application and the RTMP player that comes configured with Wowza.

    Also, is Wowza installed locally, on the same machine you are testing? If not you can make sure you can access the Wowza server by entering [wowza-ip]:1935 in a browser. If everything is working this should produce the Wowza version and build number on the page.

    One last thing to do would be to start Wowza in stand-alone mode . This will show the server logs in a console window, and you can see error or warn messages.

    Regards,

    Salvadore

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hi Salvadore, thanks for circling back....

    Yes I am accessing a remote server, using the <ip>:8088/enginemanager URL as instructed.
    I can access the control console no problem and log in so all looks OK. I can click on the 'test stream' button and the player kicks off but no video...

    I tried the <IP>:1935 as you suggested but this produced nothing...Safari cant see the server....maybe I am missing something?

    UPDATE - Tried the standalone...same problem.....

    Thanks
    Last edited by markcopas; 06-14-2015 at 10:33 PM.

  4. #4

    Default

    It sounds like you may need to port forward TCP port 1935 (in your router) to the computer running Wowza. Or on your network you need to map port 1935 to the server running Wowza.

    A simple test would be to connect to the server remotely(outside of your network)
    If you enter [wowza-ip]:1935 in a browser remotely, it should display Wowza version and build numbers. If not port forwarding is in order.

    And use the public IP of the server in the player. If you don't know what it is, you can see it here: http://www.dnsstuff.com

    This is a helpful resource:
    http://portforward.com/

    Hope this helps.

    Salvadore

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Will give it a go. many thanks


    Quote Originally Posted by salvadore View Post
    It sounds like you may need to port forward TCP port 1935 (in your router) to the computer running Wowza. Or on your network you need to map port 1935 to the server running Wowza.

    A simple test would be to connect to the server remotely(outside of your network)
    If you enter [wowza-ip]:1935 in a browser remotely, it should display Wowza version and build numbers. If not port forwarding is in order.

    And use the public IP of the server in the player. If you don't know what it is, you can see it here: http://www.dnsstuff.com

    This is a helpful resource:
    http://portforward.com/

    Hope this helps.

    Salvadore

Similar Threads

  1. EC2 vods3 Test Players not working
    By garykahn in forum Wowza Streaming Engine in the Cloud
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-19-2014, 10:22 PM
  2. Load Test Tool not working
    By czarli12 in forum Performance Tuning Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-31-2014, 12:09 AM
  3. MPEG2-TS (MPTS) Live Stream Setup and test using VLC Player - Not working
    By rainierconnect in forum Live Streaming and Encoder Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-17-2014, 10:58 AM
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-23-2013, 01:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •