Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Pushing RTSP from Sercomm cameras

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    9

    Red face Pushing RTSP from Sercomm cameras

    Forgive me if such an issue has been discussed anywhere in the forum before, but I wasn't able to find it.

    We have a H.264-capable Sercomm IP camera, that is able to push live streams via RTSP - I understand that Wowza is capable of receiving such a stream (based on http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....based-encoder) ). However, I wasn't able to get that working (using pure RTP or RTP over HTTP). Is there anything in general that's preventing such a solution from working, or should it be possible in principle? In the latter case I can provide additional details.

    Thanks,
    Roman

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,934

    Default

    Hi
    Yes Wowza can receive an RTSP stream are you sending the stream on port 1935?
    Which ports are open in the VHost.xml?

    Have you copied the .sdp file that is mentioned in the link you provided.

    RTSP is on port 554 by default.

    There is another tutorial here,
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....-re-streaming)

    Jason

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Re-streaming is not an option unfortunately, it has to be camera-initiated. Yes I'm sending it to port 1935 and it's definately open (the camera get's the connection and is able to send data, it just fails after that).

    Could you elaborate a bit more on copying the .sdp? That might be the culprit since I didn't copy anything. And the tutorial doesn't say anything about copying an .sdp, unless I can't read!

    Here's the debug output from Wowza when an RTSP session is initiated from the camera. The connection reset by peer worries me a bit (I'm not ruling out that it's a problem on the camera end yet):


    DEBUG server comment - open
    INFO server comment - handshake0: 768
    INFO server comment - handshake0: 3664
    DEBUG server comment - Handshake[1]: length:3575
    DEBUG server comment - Handshake[2]: length:2039
    DEBUG server comment - Handshake[2]: length:4935
    DEBUG server comment - Handshake[2]: length:6383
    DEBUG server comment - Handshake[2]: length:10046
    DEBUG server comment - Handshake[2]: length:13061
    DEBUG server comment - Handshake[2]: length:13129
    INFO server comment - ServerHandler.exceptionCaught[[any]:1935:192.168.2.8]: java.io.IOException: Connection reset by peer
    DEBUG server comment - sessionClosed: closeConnection: vhost:_defaultVHost_ clientId:423567858
    INFO session disconnect 423567858 -
    DEBUG server comment - ServerHandler.handleSessionIdle: isDidClose
    Looking at the TCP dump, the camera is sending an RST right at the very end which explains the reset by peer, don't understand why though.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,934

    Default

    Hi
    Try this link instead of the original that you posted,
    http://www.wowza.com/forums/content....with-SDP-file)

    Let me know if this works for you or if you have any problems.

    Jason

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Hi,
    sorry Jason, still the same results, the camera seems to close the connection after a short period (Wowza's logs are always similar to the one I pasted earlier). I managed to capture what's going on with Wireshark and this is what the Camera is sending to Wowza:

    RTSP/1.0 200 OK
    Host: 192.168.2.2
    User-Agent: RS/000E8F779C10
    Content-Type: application/octet-stream
    X-Precapture: 0
    X-SDP: dj0wDQpvPS0gMTM1ODggMTM1ODggSU4gSVA0IDE5Mi4xNjguMi44DQpzPVJUU1AgU2VydmVyKEgyNjQpIC0gUkM4MjIxNzc5QzEw DQpjPUlOIElQNCAwLjAuMC4wDQp0PTAgMA0KYT1jaGFyc2V0OlNoaWZ0X0pJUw0KYT1yYW5nZTpucHQ9MC0NCmE9Y29udHJvbDoq DQphPWV0YWc6MTIzNDU2Nzg5MA0KbT12aWRlbyAwIFJUUC9BVlAgOTYNCmI9QVM6NjE0NA0KYT1ydHBtYXA6OTYgSDI2NC85MDAw MA0KYT1jb250cm9sOnRyYWNrSUQ9MQ0KYT1mbXRwOjk2IHBhY2tldGl6YXRpb24tbW9kZT0xO3Byb2ZpbGUtbGV2ZWwtaWQ9NDI4 MDI4O3Nwcm9wLXBhcmFtZXRlci1zZXRzPVowS0FLTm9CUUJiTUJWSUFBQU1BQkFBQUF3QjR3SUFBQyt2Q0FBQmZYaFh2ZkM4SWhH bz0sYU00OGdBPT0NCmE9eC1mcmFtZXJhdGU6MzANCmE9ZnJhbWVyYXRlOjMwLjANCmE9eC1kdXJhdGlvbjozMDANCg==

    [skip binary data]
    I've pasted the whole TCP dump with both the request and the first response from Wowza here: http://pastebin.com/WpkEjWZM . Like I've said, I'm not ruling out that the camera is misbehaving, but would like to understand what's going on. Hope this isn't too much trouble.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Update:
    I finally did get it working with RTP with the SDP file (the camera was acting up and pushing the stream to random UDP ports each time...). However, pure RTP over UDP isn't an ideal variant for us, as we'd prefer to have it over TCP. Is that something that Wowza is capable of in principle?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    Yes, in the current and recent version of Wowza the Property is /conf/[app-name]/Application.xml /MediaCaster /RTP /RTSP /RTPTransportMode. The default is "interleave", which is what you want.

    Note that the above is a recent change, I think it was first in Wowza 3.0.3. Prior to that, the default was UDP and the way to change to TCP (interleaved) was by adding the forceInterleaved Property to /MediaCaster /Properties list

    <Property>
    	<Name>forceInterleaved</Name>
    	<Value>true</Value>
    	<Type>Boolean</Type>
    </Property>
    Richard

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I thought that was a property of the outgoing stream, or am I mistaken? Whereas I'm looking for a way for Wowza to receive the stream from the camera over RTP-TCP. In any case, that only leaves me with the error I already pasted earlier (handshake, handshake ... reset by peer).

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    21,962

    Default

    No, this Property affects incoming streams. You cannot change the protocol for outgoing streams, which is controlled by the client.

    Richard

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Hi,
    talking about UDP again. Using pure RTP, I can make the camera stream to a specific UDP port, but can't seem to find a way of telling Wowza to listen on a specific port on a per application instance basis. Is there some way of doing that? There is the DatagramStartingPort property, but it only defines the port Wowza starts listening on, and then it incrementally increases.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •